Salute to Hugh Jackman

Photo: Sylvain Gaboury/

Museum of the Moving Image Salute

Since 1985, the Museum has honored American actors and directors at the peak of their careers at its annual star-studded black-tie gala. As one of New York’s most notable lifetime achievement tributes, this special evening features cocktails, dinner, and a lively program with remarks by a stellar group of the honoree’s friends and colleagues introducing career highlight clips, and is capped by the honoree taking the stage to receive the award.

Funds raised from the Salute support the Museum’s programs, exhibitions, and educational activities. The education programs, which include curriculum-based tours, screenings, and workshops, serve 50,000 students per year.

“These events are movie fans’ heaven”—New York Social Diary (2007)

Past Honorees:

2018 Glenn Close
2017 Annette Bening
2016 Warren Beatty
2015 Julianne Moore
2014 Kevin Spacey
2012 Hugh Jackman
2011 Alec Baldwin
2009 Clint Eastwood
2008 Ben Stiller
2007 Tom Cruise
2006 Will Smith
2005 Ron Howard
2004 John Travolta
2004 Richard Gere
2003 Billy Crystal
2002 Mel Gibson
2001 Julia Roberts
2000 Steve Martin
1999 Tom Hanks
1998 Dustin Hoffman
1997 Goldie Hawn
1996 Martin Scorsese
1995 Robin Williams
1994 Steven Spielberg
1993 Al Pacino
1992 Barbara Walters
1991 Robert DeNiro
1990 Mike Nichols
1989 Sidney Poitier
1988 James Stewart
1986 Elia Kazan
1985 Sidney Lumet