Queens Drive-In, mock-up / courtesy of Rooftop Films

SERIES
Queens Drive-In

August 13–October 31

Starting in August, Museum of the Moving Image partners with Rooftop Films and the New York Hall of Science to present the Queens Drive-In. Taking place on the grounds of the New York Hall of Science (NYSCI) in Flushing Meadows Corona Park, this landmark partnership will bring safe, communal moviegoing back to the City following the COVID-19 pandemic, serve to sustain jobs, and support New York and the larger filmmaking community.   

The Queens Drive-In will be programmed by Museum of the Moving Image and Rooftop Films, with MoMI taking the lead on classic repertory and thematic programming, in consultation with the New York Hall of Science. The Museum's selections for the Queens Drive-In will reflect a range of MoMI's programming, including films from the established series See It Big!, revived with the theme The Future Is Now, featuring science-fiction classics that speak to the current moment; Science on Screen; Jim Henson’s World, presented in conjunction with the Museum’s ongoing exhibition and programming devoted to Jim Henson; and the launch of the series Queens on Film, showcasing movies set or filmed in the borough. More titles will be announced as they are confirmed.

NOTE: Working with the City, MoMI, Rooftop Films, and NYSCI have taken every precaution to ensure the safety of all attendees, working with Mutual Aid Risk and Safety to finalize safety and mitigation plans for events, and plans and procedures will exceed the recommendations included in the City and State guidelines. For more information, see the Queens Drive-In FAQ.

Tickets: Starting at $35 per car (up to 5 passengers per car). Members of the presenting organizations will receive a 15% discount. Learn more about membership and join here. Tickets will become available to purchase on the Rooftop Films website, once programs are announced. Doors will open each night around 7:30 p.m., events will begin at 8:30 p.m. and end by 11:00 p.m.

Donations to MoMI help support initiatives like the Queens Drive-In. Please consider making a gift today.

Special thanks to Queens Borough President Sharon Lee and Council Member Francisco Moya for their support of the Queens Drive-In and making possible free community screenings. Additional thanks to Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer, Chair of the Council’s Committee on Cultural Affairs.

SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
Tesla
Thursday, August 13, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
The Last Out
Friday, August 14, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING
Mad Max: Fury Road
Saturday, August 15, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
The Muppet Movie
Sunday, August 16, 7:30 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
John Lewis: Good Trouble
Wednesday, August 19, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
Summer White (Blanco de Verano)
Thursday, August 20, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
Mayor
Friday, August 21, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING
Good Time
Saturday, August 22, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING
E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial
Sunday, August 23, 7:30 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
Up
Wednesday, August 26, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
This is What We Mean by Short Films 2020
Thursday, August 27, 7:30 p.m.
SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
Landfall
Friday, August 28, 7:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
2001: A Space Odyssey
Sunday, August 30, 7:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Night of the Living Dead
Monday, August 31, 7:00 p.m. Queens Drive-In
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
The Lunchbox
Wednesday, September 2, 7:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Do the Right Thing
Thursday, September 3, 6:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
9to5: The Story of a Movement + Nine to Five
Friday, September 4, 6:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Born in Flames
Saturday, September 5, 7:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Back to the Future + Rick and Morty
Sunday, September 6, 7:30 p.m. Queens Drive-In at NYSCI, 47-01 111 St, Corona, NY 11368
FREE SCREENING
All In: The Fight for Democracy
Wednesday, September 9, 7:00 p.m.
CANCELED SCREENING
Jurassic Park
Thursday, September 10, 7:00 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Bulletproof + Stray
Friday, September 11, 7:00 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Videodrome + The Thing
Saturday, September 12, 6:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
The Wizard of Oz
Sunday, September 13, 7:00 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Jurassic Park
Monday, September 14, 7:00 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
The Farewell
Wednesday, September 16, 7:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
The Dark Crystal + Time Piece
Sunday, September 20, 7:00 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Iron Man
Wednesday, September 23, 7:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Men In Black
Wednesday, September 30, 7:30 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
WALL-E
Wednesday, October 14, 7:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Moonstruck
Thursday, October 15, 7:00 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
Dick Johnson is Dead + Cameraperson
Saturday, October 17, 6:30 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
Black Panther
Sunday, October 18, 6:00 p.m.
DRIVE-IN SCREENING
Bad Hair
Wednesday, October 21, 7:00 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
Be Water
Thursday, October 22, 7:00 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Friday, October 23 - Saturday, October 24, 11:00 p.m.
DRIVE-IN DOUBLE FEATURE
Psycho + The Birds
Saturday, October 24, 6:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN DOUBLE FEATURE
Nosferatu + Young Frankenstein
Sunday, October 25, 6:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN DOUBLE FEATURE
Get Out + The Babadook
Wednesday, October 28, 6:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN DOUBLE FEATURE
Halloween + The Texas Chainsaw Massacre
Friday, October 30, 6:30 p.m.
DRIVE-IN DOUBLE FEATURE
Little Shop of Horrors + Beetlejuice
Saturday, October 31, 6:30 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
Coco
Sunday, November 1, 6:00 p.m.
FREE SCREENING
The Nightmare Before Christmas
Sunday, November 15, 6:00 p.m.