搜索活动影像博物馆

筛选美国

从 7 年级到大学

“筛选美国”利用电影和电视帮助教授英语、英语作为第二语言和社会研究。在您访问之前,您将收到一份计划指南,帮助学生做好准备并将选定的筛选与班级课程相结合。博物馆教育者介绍电影或电视节目并指导放映后的讨论。 “筛选美国”计划与导游一起提供 幕后.

精选电影

移民 (1917)

人群 (1928)

我爱露西,“工作转换”(1952 年)

12 愤怒的男人 (1957)

客厅候选人(1952-2008)

在炎热的夜晚 (1967)

亲爱的美国:来自越南的来信 (1987)

布尔沃思 (1998)

短片和电视节目

短片和电视剧集旨在与幕后导览相结合,可供以下学生使用: 4-5 年级, 6-8 年级, 9-12 年级, 也 学院和大学生.

无声喜剧和移民经历

移民 (1917 年,21 分钟)

有现场音乐伴奏的无声电影。查理卓别林编剧、导演并主演了这部关于移民抵达纽约市的凄美搞笑喜剧。对于英语学习者和研究美国历史的人来说,观看这部经典作品会鼓励人们讨论电影中幽默和音乐的使用——以及美国移民的经历。

现场音乐伴奏附加费:$50.00

Image Caption Here
Image Caption Here

二十年代的都市生活

人群 (1928 年,104 分钟)

有现场音乐伴奏的无声电影。一个渴望名利的年轻办公室职员在 1920 年代的纽约努力取得成功。这部具有里程碑意义的无声剧以生动的外景摄影为特色,挑战学生重新思考自己的未来以及当今城市对他们的影响。

五十年代职场女性

我爱露西,“工作转换”(1952 年,25 分钟)

露西尔·鲍尔出演了电视史上最有趣的情景喜剧之一,其中家庭主妇和朋友露西和埃塞尔去巧克力工厂工作,而他们的丈夫(瑞奇和弗雷德)则接管了家务。这个看似简单的前提为 1950 年代美国中产阶级男性和女性所扮演的角色提供了丰富的洞察力。

下载 我爱露西 学习指南在这里。

Image Caption Here

长篇电影

长篇电影可以与幕后导览或自助参观相结合,可供学生在 9-12 年级大学生,并且某些选项可用于 6-8 年级 以及。鉴于他们的历史背景,推荐给寻求与美国历史主题有特定课程对齐的项目的团体使用长片。

Image Caption Here

偏见与陪审团制度

12 愤怒的男人 (1957 年,93 分钟)

这部紧张的电影由亨利·方达主演,西德尼·卢梅特执导,以十二名陪审员的审议为中心,他们必须决定是否将一名年轻人送上电椅。陪审员的激烈讨论和冲突促使学生解决关于真相、客观性、同伴压力和美国陪审团制度的仍然存在的问题。

总统竞选、电视和互联网

客厅候选人:总统竞选广告,1952-2008 (45 分钟)

自从电视在 1950 年代初首次成为大众媒体以来,总统候选人就一直试图在电视上推销自己。通过查看和讨论从 1950 年代到 2008 年大选的一系列广告,学生可以了解总统竞选广告的历史。

Image Caption Here
Image Caption Here

民权运动中的平等斗争

在炎热的夜晚 (1967 年,110 分钟)

这部开创性的种族戏剧(获得了包括最佳影片在内的五项奥斯卡奖)引发了对美国民权历史和电影中非裔美国人形象的讨论。在 1960 年代民权运动的鼎盛时期制作,西德尼·波蒂埃(Sidney Poitier)是一名来自费城的凶杀案侦探,他被一位偏执的治安官招募,以帮助解决南方小镇的一起谋杀案。

探索纪录片形式

亲爱的美国:来自越南的来信 (1987 年,85 分钟)

由罗伯特·德尼罗(Robert De Niro)、肖恩·潘(Sean Penn)、艾伦·伯斯汀(Ellen Burstyn)等人在越南写给美国军人和军人的信件与当时重要艺术家(包括鲍勃·迪伦和滚石乐队)的越南战争镜头和歌曲交织在一起。这部感人的电影向学生提出了关于纪录片的功能和力量的问题。

Image Caption Here
Image Caption Here

美国政治中的种族、阶级和腐败

布尔沃思 (1998 年,108 分钟)

在这部引人入胜的讽刺片中,由自杀的美国参议员沃伦·比蒂(Warren Beatty)执导并主演,他对失去理想感到失望,开始大胆地谈论美国政治制度的缺点。这部电影鼓励学生重新考虑种族、阶级和金钱在美国生活中的作用。

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Screening America

For Grades 7 through College

"Screening America" uses film and television to help teach English, English as a Second Language, and Social Studies. Before your visit, you will receive a program guide to help prepare students and integrate the selected screening with the class’ curriculum. A Museum educator introduces the film or television program and guides a post-screening discussion. "Screening America" programs are offered in conjunction with a guided tour of Behind the Screen.

Featured Films

The Immigrant (1917)

The Crowd (1928)

I Love Lucy, “Job Switching” (1952)

12 Angry Men (1957)

The Living Room Candidate (1952-2008)

In the Heat of the Night (1967)

Dear America: Letters Home from Vietnam (1987)

Bulworth (1998)

Shorts and Television Shows

Shorts and television episodes are designed to be coupled with a Behind the Screen guided tour, and are available to students in: grades 4-5, grades 6-8, grades 9-12, as well as college & university students.

Silent Comedy and the Immigrant Experience

The Immigrant (1917, 21 mins)

Silent film presented with live musical accompaniment. Charlie Chaplin wrote, directed, and starred in this poignant, hilarious comedy about an immigrant’s arrival in New York City. For English-language learners and those studying American history, viewing this classic encourages discussion about the use of humor and music in film—and the American immigrant experience.

Surcharge for live musical accompaniment: $50.00

Image Caption Here
Image Caption Here

Urban Life in the Twenties

The Crowd (1928, 104 mins)

Silent film presented with live musical accompaniment. A young office clerk who aspires to fame and fortune struggles to succeed in 1920s New York. This landmark silent drama, featuring vivid on-location photography, challenges students to think anew about their own futures and what today’s city holds for them.

Women at Work in the Fifties

I Love Lucy, “Job Switching” (1952, 25 mins)

Lucille Ball stars in one of the funniest sitcom episodes in television history, in which housewives and friends Lucy and Ethel go to work in a chocolate factory while their husbands (Ricky and Fred) take over the housework. This deceptively simple premise offers rich insight into the roles that middle-class American men and women were expected to play in the 1950s.

Download the I Love Lucy study guide here.

Image Caption Here

Feature-length Films

Feature length films can be coupled with a Behind the Screen guided tour, or a self-guided visit, and are available to students in grades 9-12 as well as college and university students, and certain selections are available for grades 6-8 as well. Given their historic context, feature length films are recommended for groups looking for a program with specific curricular alignments to American History topics.

Image Caption Here

Prejudice and the Jury System

12 Angry Men (1957, 93 mins)

This taut film, starring Henry Fonda and directed by Sidney Lumet, centers on the deliberations of twelve jurors who must decide whether or not to send a young man to the electric chair. The jurors’ impassioned discussions and conflicts prompt students to address still-current questions about truth, objectivity, peer pressure, and the American jury system.

Presidential Campaigns, Television, and the Internet

The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008 (45 mins)

Ever since television first emerged as a mass medium in the early 1950s, presidential candidates have tried to sell themselves on TV. By viewing and discussing a selection of advertisements from the 1950s through the 2008 election, students learn about the history of presidential campaign commercials.

Image Caption Here
Image Caption Here

The Struggle for Equality during the Civil Rights Movement

In the Heat of the Night (1967, 110 mins)

This pioneering racial drama (which won five Academy Awards, including Best Picture) prompts discussion of the history of civil rights in America and the portrayal of African Americans on film. Made during the height of the 1960s civil rights movement, it features Sidney Poitier as a homicide detective from Philadelphia who is enlisted by a bigoted sheriff to help solve a murder in a small Southern town.

Exploring the Documentary Form

Dear America: Letters Home from Vietnam (1987, 85 mins)

Letters written home by American servicemen and servicewomen in Vietnam—read by Robert De Niro, Sean Penn, Ellen Burstyn, and others—are interwoven with Vietnam War footage and songs by important artists of the time, including Bob Dylan and the Rolling Stones. This moving film raises questions for students about the function and power of documentaries.

Image Caption Here
Image Caption Here

Race, Class, and Corruption in American Politics

Bulworth (1998, 108 mins)

In this compelling satire, directed by and starring Warren Beatty, a suicidal U.S. senator, disillusioned by the loss of his ideals, begins speaking boldly about the shortcomings of the American political system. The film encourages students to reconsider the roles of race, class, and money in American life.

English