搜索活动影像博物馆

加载活动

筛选

爱丽丝·盖·布拉切,索拉克斯女王

正在进行中

理查德·科扎斯基介绍

唐纳德·索辛的现场音乐

作为第一位制作和导演自己的电影的女性,也是唯一拥有自己工作室的女性,爱丽丝·盖伊·布拉切 (Alice Guy Blaché) 自世纪之交以来一直在巴黎导演电影。 1907 年,她与丈夫赫伯特一起被派往美国推广 Gaumont 的有声电影系统,她看到了创办自己的制作公司的机会,并在三年后在法拉盛开设了 Solax 工作室。随着业务的腾飞,她在李堡的 Lemoine 大道上建造了一个令人印象深刻的新 Solax,该公司于 1912 年夏天搬入。但即使当 Solax 每周发行两三部电影时,这位忙碌的制片厂负责人仍然抽出时间来指挥他们中的大多数人。

程序运行大约 85 分钟。

1912年的所有电影。

傻瓜和他的钱

目录爱丽丝盖伊布拉切。 35 毫米,美国国会图书馆。与詹姆斯·拉塞尔。作为已知最早的全黑人演员电影,这部滑稽的浪漫故事暗示了当时在隔离的杂耍巡回演出中流行的套路之一。但对阶级而非种族的关注揭示了一种本质上与后来的美国“种族电影”截然不同的欧洲视角。

落叶

目录爱丽丝盖伊布拉切。 35 毫米,美国国会图书馆。玛丽安·斯韦恩,玛格达·福伊。在路过的医生的帮助下,两个小女孩试图创造奇迹,并对 O. Henry 的故事“最后一片叶子”表示赞同。

矿工阿尔吉

目录爱德华·沃伦,哈里·申克。 35 毫米,美国国会图书馆。与比利·奎克。一个“娘娘腔”(正如 Solax 的广告所说)被派往西部成为一个男人。一部逐渐暴露出自己好奇而复杂的爱情故事的再生剧。

侦探的狗

目录爱丽丝盖伊布拉切。 35 毫米,美国国会图书馆。达尔文·卡尔,玛格达·福伊。在 Rin-Tin-Tin 的几年前,当我们好奇的英雄发现自己被绑在锯木厂的一根圆木上时,Solax(和可爱的小 Magda Foy)派出他们可信赖的 Saint Bernard 进行救援。

扶手椅上的女孩

目录爱丽丝盖伊布拉切。 35 毫米,美国国会图书馆。与布兰奇康沃尔,达尔文卡尔。在这里很难说哪个更重要:高贵的年轻女主角或精心布置的扶手椅,将她隐藏在其他玩家(但不是观众)面前。

和谐罐头

目录爱丽丝盖伊布拉切。 35 毫米,美国国会图书馆。与比利·奎克,布兰奇·康沃尔。在留声机的帮助下愚弄爸爸。十年前,Alice Guy Blaché 一直在为 Gaumont 导演有声电影,拍摄到回放。现在,淘气的中产阶级消费者可以使用大部分相同的技术。

美国公民的形成

目录爱丽丝盖伊布拉切。 35 毫米,龙虾胶片。与李贝格斯,布兰奇康沃尔。一部“美国化”电影,由仅五年前抵达美国且本人并非公民的女性执导。从旧国家带来的过时传统——尤其是殴打妻子——必须在美国大熔炉中重新塑造。

博物馆免费入场,先到先得。博物馆会员可致电 718 777 6800 提前预订门票。有关成为博物馆会员和在线加入的更多信息,请点击 这里.

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: Proof of vaccination is required for all visitors ages 5 and older (with photo ID for adults), and everyone must wear face masks. Read all our guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

SCREENING

Alice Guy Blaché, Queen of Solax

Ongoing

Introduced by Richard Koszarski

Live music by Donald Sosin

The first woman to produce and direct her own films, and the only one ever to own her own studio, Alice Guy Blaché had been directing films in Paris since before the turn of the century. Sent to America with her husband, Herbert, to promote Gaumont’s talking film system in 1907, she saw the opportunity to launch her own production company and three years later opened the Solax studio in Flushing. As business took off, she built an impressive new Solax on Lemoine Avenue in Fort Lee, which the company moved into during the summer of 1912. But even when Solax was releasing two or three films every week, this busy studio head still found time to direct most of them herself.

Program runs approximately 85 minutes.

All films from 1912.

A Fool and His Money

Dir. Alice Guy Blaché. 35mm, Library of Congress. With James Russell. The earliest known film with an all-black cast, this farcical romance suggests one of the routines popular on segregated vaudeville circuits at the time. But the focus on class over race reveals an essentially European perspective quite different from later American “race movies.”

Falling Leaves

Dir. Alice Guy Blaché. 35mm, Library of Congress. With Marian Swayne, Magda Foy. Two little girls try for a miracle, with some help from a passing doctor and a nod to O. Henry’s tale “The Last Leaf.”

Algie, the Miner

Dirs. Edward Warren, Harry Schenck. 35mm, Library of Congress. With Billy Quirk. A “sissy boy” (as the Solax ad put it) is sent out west to become a man. A regeneration drama that gradually reveals itself as a curious and complicated love story.

The Detective’s Dog

Dir. Alice Guy Blaché. 35mm, Library of Congress. With Darwin Karr, Magda Foy. Years before Rin-Tin-Tin, Solax (and cute little Magda Foy) send their trusty Saint Bernard to the rescue when our inquisitive hero finds himself tied to a log in a sawmill.

The Girl in the Armchair

Dir. Alice Guy Blaché. 35mm, Library of Congress. With Blanche Cornwall, Darwin Karr. It’s hard to say which is more important here: the noble young heroine or the carefully arranged armchair that hides her from the other players (but not the audience).

Canned Harmony

Dir. Alice Guy Blaché. 35mm, Library of Congress. With Billy Quirk, Blanche Cornwall. Fooling Dad with the aid of the phonograph. A decade earlier, Alice Guy Blaché had been directing talking films for Gaumont, shot to playback. Now much of this same technology was available to mischievous middle-class consumers.

Making of an American Citizen

Dir. Alice Guy Blaché. 35mm, Lobster Films. With Lee Beggs, Blanche Cornwall. An “Americanization” film directed by a woman who had arrived in the States only five years earlier and was not herself a citizen. Obsolete traditions brought over from the old country—notably wife beating—must be recast in the great American melting pot.

Free with Museum admission on a first-come, first-served basis. Museum members may reserve tickets in advance by calling 718 777 6800. For more information about becoming a Museum member and to join online, please click here.

English