ابحث في متحف الصورة المتحركة

نظرًا لأن مدينة نيويورك قد غيرت مستوى تنبيه COVID إلى "متوسط" ، يوصى باستخدام أقنعة الوجه ولكنها غير مطلوبة للزوار. اقرأ الإرشادات المحدثة للسلامة.

تحميل الأحداث

تحري

إبادة

الخميس 1 كانون الثاني (يناير) 1970 الساعة 5:00 مساءً

المكان: غرفة عرض برطوس

دير. أليكس جارلاند. 2018 ، 115 دقيقة. مع ناتالي بورتمان وجنيفر جيسون لي وتيسا تومسون وجينا رودريغيز وتوفا نوفوتني وأوسكار إسحاق. في فيلمه الخيال العلمي إبادة, الكاتب والمخرج أليكس جارلاند (آلة السابقين) يتصور منظرًا طبيعيًا ساحرًا وجميلًا حيث لا يلتزم الحمض النووي والعمليات البيولوجية بالقواعد المعروفة. الفيلم الذي تخشى الاستوديوهات أنه سيكون معقدًا جدًا بالنسبة للجماهير ، لكنه اكتسب عبادة تالية ، إبادة تركز على فريق من النساء فقط من العلماء والعسكريين الذين يجب أن يذهبوا حيث فشل الرجال قبلهم للعثور على سبب هذا الوادي الخارق الجديد. إبادة مستوحاة من الرواية الأولى في كتاب Jeff VanderMeer الأكثر مبيعًا جنوب الوصول ثلاثية. متنوع وصفه بأنه "إنجاز نادر لنوع سينمائي عظيم ، حيث لا يشعر الجمهور بالإثارة فقط (الفيلم مخيف للغاية وجميل بشكل غير متوقع في أجزاء) ولكنهم يشعرون أيضًا كما لو أن عقولهم قد توسعت على طول الطريق." مصحوبة بمقالات كتبها كاتب السيناريو والكاتب المسرحي دوروثي فورتنبيري (حكاية الخادمة ، الاستقراء) ومن قبل المؤلف والصحفي كال فلين (جزر التخلي) حول انهيار النظام البيئي وكيف أدى إلى تصورات إبداعية للحياة في المناظر الطبيعية الجديدة. 

عن الكتاب: 

دوروثي فورتنبيري كاتب سيناريو وكاتب مسرحي. هي منتج تنفيذي لـ استقراء، مسلسل تلفزيوني قادم حول تغير المناخ على + Apple TV. عملت كمنتجة وكاتبة في المسلسل الحائز على جائزة إيمي حكاية الخادمة، وكان أيضًا كاتبًا لسلسلة الخيال العلمي لما بعد المروع 100. بالإضافة إلى الكتابة للتلفزيون ، كتب Fortenberry عدة مسرحيات منها شركاء و الأنواع الأصلية في ولاية كاليفورنيا. ظهرت مقالاتها في مراجعة لوس أنجلوس للكتب, بسيط حقيقي، و معيار المحيط الهادئ. حصلت على جائزة هيلين ميريل للكتاب المسرحيين الناشئين ، الحائزة على جائزة عام 2021 لجورج دبليو هانت ، SJ ، جائزة الصحافة والفنون والآداب عن العمل المتميز في فئة الكاتب الخيالي أو المسرحي ، وتحمل درجة الماجستير في الكتابة المسرحية. من مدرسة ييل للدراما.

كال فلين كاتب حاصل على جوائز من مرتفعات اسكتلندا. تكتب قصصي أدبي وصحافة طويلة. كتابها الأول ، تيهيكير من الماء، حول عنف الحدود في أستراليا الاستعمارية ، كان أ مرات كتاب العام. كتابها الثاني ، جزر التخلي- حول علم البيئة وعلم النفس للأماكن المهجورة - خرج الآن. تم ترشيحها لعدد من الجوائز ، بما في ذلك جائزة Wainwright للكتابة عن الحفظ العالمي ، وجائزة الأكاديمية البريطانية للكتاب ، وجائزة Baillie Gifford للواقعية. تم نشر كتابات كال الصحفية في جرانتا ، مجلة صنداي تايمز ، مجلة تلغراف ، الإيكونوميست, و اخرين.

التذاكر: $15 / $11 كبار وطلاب / $9 شباب (تتراوح أعمارهم من 3 إلى 17 عامًا) / مجانية أو مخفضة لأعضاء MoMI. طلب التذاكر. يرجى استلام التذاكر من مكتب القبول بالمتحف عند الوصول. جميع المقاعد القبول العام. إعادة النظر بروتوكولات الأمان قبل زيارتك.

شارك

العربية

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Loading Events

SCREENING

Annihilation

Sunday, May 22, 2022 at 5:00 pm

Location: Bartos Screening Room

Dir. Alex Garland. 2018, 115 mins. With Natalie Portman, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Tessa Thompson, Gina Rodriguez, Tuva Novotny, Oscar Isaac. In his sci-fi thriller Annihilation, writer-director Alex Garland (Ex Machina) envisions a haunting and beautiful landscape where DNA and biological processes do not abide known rules. A film that studios feared would be too complex for audiences, but which gained a cult following, Annihilation centers on an all-women team of scientists and military personnel who must go where men have failed before them to find the reason for this new uncanny valley. Annihilation was inspired by the first novel in Jeff VanderMeer’s best-selling Southern Reach Trilogy. Variety called it a “rare feat of great genre cinema, where audiences are not merely thrilled (the film is both intensely scary and unexpectedly beautiful in parts) but also feel as if their minds have been expanded along the way.” Accompanied by essays by screenwriter and playwright Dorothy Fortenberry (The Handmaid’s Tale, Extrapolations) and by author and journalist Cal Flyn (Islands of Abandonment) about ecosystem collapse and how it has prompted creative envisionings of life in new landscapes. 

About the writers: 

Dorothy Fortenberry is a screenwriter and playwright. She is an executive producer of Extrapolations, an upcoming television series about climate change on Apple TV+. She has served as producer and writer for the Emmy Award–winning series The Handmaid’s Tale, and has also been a writer for the postapocalyptic science fiction series The 100. In addition to writing for television, Fortenberry has written several plays, including Partners and Species Native to California. Her essays have appeared in The Los Angeles Review of Books, Real Simple, and Pacific Standard. She is a recipient of the Helen Merrill Award for Emerging Playwrights, the 2021 laureate of the George W. Hunt, S.J., Prize for Journalism, Arts & Letters for outstanding work in the category of fiction writer or dramatist, and holds an MFA in playwriting from the Yale School of Drama.

Cal Flyn is an award-winning writer from the Highlands of Scotland. She writes literary nonfiction and long-form journalism. Her first book, Thicker Than Water, about frontier violence in colonial Australia, was a Times book of the year. Her second book, Islands of Abandonment—about the ecology and psychology of abandoned places—is out now. It has been shortlisted for a number of prizes, including the Wainwright Prize for writing on global conservation, the British Academy Book Prize, and the Baillie Gifford Prize for nonfiction. Cal’s journalistic writing has been published in Granta, The Sunday Times Magazine, Telegraph Magazine, The Economist, and others.

Tickets: $15 / $11 senior and students / $9 youth (ages 3–17) / Free or discounted for MoMI members. Order tickets. Please pick up tickets at the Museum’s admissions desk upon arrival. All seating is general admission. Review safety protocols before your visit.

Share

English