搜索活动影像博物馆

由于纽约市已将其 COVID 警报级别更改为“中”,因此建议佩戴口罩,但访客不需要佩戴口罩。 阅读更新的安全指南.

加载活动

筛选

歼灭

1970年1月1日星期四下午5:00

地点:巴托斯放映室

目录亚历克斯·加兰。 2018 年,115 分钟。与娜塔莉·波特曼、詹妮弗·杰森·李、泰莎·汤普森、吉娜·罗德里格兹、图瓦·诺沃特尼、奥斯卡·艾萨克合作。在他的科幻惊悚片中 歼灭, 编剧兼导演亚历克斯·加兰(前机械师) 设想了一个令人难以忘怀的美丽景观,其中 DNA 和生物过程不遵守已知规则. 电影公司担心电影对观众来说过于复杂,但却获得了狂热的追随者, 歼灭 以一个由科学家和军事人员组成的全女性团队为中心,她们必须去男性之前失败的地方寻找这个新的恐怖谷的原因。 歼灭 灵感来自杰夫·范德迈尔最畅销的第一部小说 南区三部曲. 种类 称其为“伟大类型电影的罕见壮举,观众不仅激动不已(这部电影既极度恐怖,又在某些部分出乎意料地美丽),而且还觉得他们的思想在此过程中得到了扩展。”配以编剧、剧作家的散文 多萝西·福滕贝里 (使女的故事,外推) 以及作者和记者 卡尔弗林 (遗弃岛) 关于生态系统崩溃以及它如何促使人们对新景观中的生活进行创造性构想。 

关于作者: 

多萝西·福滕贝里 是一名编剧和剧作家。她是执行制片人 外推,即将在 Apple TV+ 上播放的有关气候变化的电视连续剧。她曾担任艾美奖获奖系列的制片人和编剧 使女的故事,并且也是后世界末日科幻系列的作家 100.除了为电视写作外,Fortenberry 还写了几部戏剧,包括 伙伴 原产于加利福尼亚的物种. 她的文章出现在 洛杉矶书评, 真正简单, 和 太平洋标准.她是 Helen Merrill 新兴剧作家奖的获得者,2021 年乔治·W·亨特 (George W. Hunt) 的获奖者,SJ,新闻、艺术与文学奖,以表彰她在小说作家或剧作家类别中的杰出作品,并拥有剧作艺术硕士学位来自耶鲁戏剧学院。

卡尔弗林 是一位来自苏格兰高地的获奖作家。她撰写文学纪实和长篇新闻。她的第一本书, 比水更厉害,关于澳大利亚殖民地的边境暴力,是 时代 年度图书。她的第二本书, 遗弃岛——关于废弃地方的生态学和心理学——现已出版。它已入围多个奖项,包括温赖特全球保护写作奖、英国学院图书奖和贝利吉福德非小说奖。 Cal 的新闻文章发表在 格兰塔,星期日泰晤士报杂志,电讯杂志,经济学人, 和别的。

门票:$15 / $11 老年人和学生 / $9 青年(3-17 岁) / MoMI 会员免费或打折。 订票。 请在抵达时在博物馆的售票处领取门票。所有座位均为普通入场。审查 安全协议 在您访问之前。

分享

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Loading Events

SCREENING

Annihilation

Sunday, May 22, 2022 at 5:00 pm

Location: Bartos Screening Room

Dir. Alex Garland. 2018, 115 mins. With Natalie Portman, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Tessa Thompson, Gina Rodriguez, Tuva Novotny, Oscar Isaac. In his sci-fi thriller Annihilation, writer-director Alex Garland (Ex Machina) envisions a haunting and beautiful landscape where DNA and biological processes do not abide known rules. A film that studios feared would be too complex for audiences, but which gained a cult following, Annihilation centers on an all-women team of scientists and military personnel who must go where men have failed before them to find the reason for this new uncanny valley. Annihilation was inspired by the first novel in Jeff VanderMeer’s best-selling Southern Reach Trilogy. Variety called it a “rare feat of great genre cinema, where audiences are not merely thrilled (the film is both intensely scary and unexpectedly beautiful in parts) but also feel as if their minds have been expanded along the way.” Accompanied by essays by screenwriter and playwright Dorothy Fortenberry (The Handmaid’s Tale, Extrapolations) and by author and journalist Cal Flyn (Islands of Abandonment) about ecosystem collapse and how it has prompted creative envisionings of life in new landscapes. 

About the writers: 

Dorothy Fortenberry is a screenwriter and playwright. She is an executive producer of Extrapolations, an upcoming television series about climate change on Apple TV+. She has served as producer and writer for the Emmy Award–winning series The Handmaid’s Tale, and has also been a writer for the postapocalyptic science fiction series The 100. In addition to writing for television, Fortenberry has written several plays, including Partners and Species Native to California. Her essays have appeared in The Los Angeles Review of Books, Real Simple, and Pacific Standard. She is a recipient of the Helen Merrill Award for Emerging Playwrights, the 2021 laureate of the George W. Hunt, S.J., Prize for Journalism, Arts & Letters for outstanding work in the category of fiction writer or dramatist, and holds an MFA in playwriting from the Yale School of Drama.

Cal Flyn is an award-winning writer from the Highlands of Scotland. She writes literary nonfiction and long-form journalism. Her first book, Thicker Than Water, about frontier violence in colonial Australia, was a Times book of the year. Her second book, Islands of Abandonment—about the ecology and psychology of abandoned places—is out now. It has been shortlisted for a number of prizes, including the Wainwright Prize for writing on global conservation, the British Academy Book Prize, and the Baillie Gifford Prize for nonfiction. Cal’s journalistic writing has been published in Granta, The Sunday Times Magazine, Telegraph Magazine, The Economist, and others.

Tickets: $15 / $11 senior and students / $9 youth (ages 3–17) / Free or discounted for MoMI members. Order tickets. Please pick up tickets at the Museum’s admissions desk upon arrival. All seating is general admission. Review safety protocols before your visit.

Share

English