搜索活动影像博物馆

请注意:自 5 月 17 日起,纽约市 COVID 级别设置为高,所有访客都需要戴口罩。 阅读更新的安全指南.

加载活动

由 mk2 电影公司提供

筛选

美国鸟类

1970年1月1日星期四下午3:00

地点:巴托斯放映室

目录雅克·卢耶。 2021 年,80 分钟。一部大气的散文片, 美国鸟类 追溯著名的法国鸟类学家约翰·詹姆斯·奥杜邦 (John James Audubon) 沿着密西西比河旅行时的足迹,他用戏剧性的画作纪念了一系列非凡的鸟类,其中许多鸟类现已灭绝。引入与殖民主义、工业化、民族认同和神话对话的声音, 美国鸟类 将当代观点与 19 世纪初的观点并列,以重新考虑今天的美国。这部电影于 2021 年在 CPH:DOX 首映,并继续在包括鹿特丹国际电影节在内的其他电影节上放映;这将是它在美国的首次放映之一 配以编剧、剧作家的散文 多萝西·福滕贝里 (使女的故事,外推) 以及作者和记者 卡尔弗林 (遗弃岛) 关于生态系统崩溃以及它如何促使人们对新景观中的生活进行创造性构想。 

关于作者: 

多萝西·福滕贝里 是一名编剧和剧作家。她是执行制片人 外推,即将在 Apple TV+ 上播放的有关气候变化的电视连续剧。她曾担任艾美奖获奖系列的制片人和编剧 使女的故事,并且也是后世界末日科幻系列的作家 100.除了为电视写作外,Fortenberry 还写了几部戏剧,包括 伙伴 原产于加利福尼亚的物种. 她的文章出现在 洛杉矶书评, 真正简单, 和 太平洋标准.她是 Helen Merrill 新兴剧作家奖的获得者,2021 年乔治·W·亨特 (George W. Hunt) 的获奖者,SJ,新闻、艺术与文学奖,以表彰她在小说作家或剧作家类别中的杰出作品,并拥有剧作艺术硕士学位来自耶鲁戏剧学院。

卡尔弗林 是一位来自苏格兰高地的获奖作家。她撰写文学纪实和长篇新闻。她的第一本书, 比水更稠,关于澳大利亚殖民地的边境暴力,是 时代 年度图书。她的第二本书, 一世遗弃之岛——关于废弃地方的生态学和心理学——现已出版。它已入围多个奖项,包括温赖特全球保护写作奖、英国学院图书奖和贝利吉福德非小说奖。 Cal 的新闻文章发表在 格兰塔,《星期日泰晤士报》杂志,《电讯报》杂志,《经济学人》, 和别的。

门票:$15 / $11 老年人和学生 / $9 青年(3-17 岁) / MoMI 会员免费或打折。 订票。 请在抵达时在博物馆的售票处领取门票。所有座位均为普通入场。审查 安全协议 在您访问之前。

分享

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

Courtesy of mk2 Films

SCREENING

Birds of America

Sunday, May 22 at 3:00 PM

Location: Bartos Screening Room

Dir. Jacques Loeuille. 2021, 80 mins. An atmospheric essay film, Birds of America retraces the steps of famed French ornithologist John James Audubon as he traveled along the Mississippi memorializing with his dramatic paintings a remarkable range of birds, many of which are now extinct. Bringing in voices that speak to colonialism, industrialization, national identity, and myth, Birds of America juxtaposes contemporary views with those of the early 19th century to reconsider what America is today. The film premiered at CPH:DOX in 2021 and went on to play at other festivals including the International Film Festival Rotterdam; this will be one of its first screenings in the U.S. Accompanied by essays by screenwriter and playwright Dorothy Fortenberry (The Handmaid’s Tale, Extrapolations) and by author and journalist Cal Flyn (Islands of Abandonment) about ecosystem collapse and how it has prompted creative envisionings of life in new landscapes. 

About the writers: 

Dorothy Fortenberry is a screenwriter and playwright. She is an executive producer of Extrapolations, an upcoming television series about climate change on Apple TV+. She has served as producer and writer for the Emmy Award–winning series The Handmaid’s Tale, and has also been a writer for the postapocalyptic science fiction series The 100. In addition to writing for television, Fortenberry has written several plays, including Partners and Species Native to California. Her essays have appeared in The Los Angeles Review of Books, Real Simple, and Pacific Standard. She is a recipient of the Helen Merrill Award for Emerging Playwrights, the 2021 laureate of the George W. Hunt, S.J., Prize for Journalism, Arts & Letters for outstanding work in the category of fiction writer or dramatist, and holds an MFA in playwriting from the Yale School of Drama.

Cal Flyn is an award-winning writer from the Highlands of Scotland. She writes literary nonfiction and long-form journalism. Her first book, Thicker Than Water, about frontier violence in colonial Australia, was a Times book of the year. Her second book, Islands of Abandonment—about the ecology and psychology of abandoned places—is out now. It has been shortlisted for a number of prizes, including the Wainwright Prize for writing on global conservation, the British Academy Book Prize, and the Baillie Gifford Prize for nonfiction. Cal’s journalistic writing has been published in Granta, The Sunday Times Magazine, Telegraph Magazine, The Economist, and others.

Tickets: $15 / $11 senior and students / $9 youth (ages 3–17) / Free or discounted for MoMI members. Order tickets. Please pick up tickets at the Museum’s admissions desk upon arrival. All seating is general admission. Review safety protocols before your visit.

Share

English