ابحث في متحف الصورة المتحركة

نظرًا لأن مدينة نيويورك قد غيرت مستوى تنبيه COVID إلى "متوسط" ، يوصى باستخدام أقنعة الوجه ولكنها غير مطلوبة للزوار. اقرأ الإرشادات المحدثة للسلامة.

تحميل الأحداث

بإذن من أفلام mk2

تحري

طيور أمريكا

الخميس 1 كانون الثاني (يناير) 1970 الساعة 3:00 مساءً

المكان: غرفة عرض برطوس

دير. جاك لويل. 2021 ، 80 دقيقة فيلم مقال جوي ، طيور أمريكا يتتبع خطوات عالم الطيور الفرنسي الشهير جون جيمس أودوبون أثناء سفره على طول نهر المسيسيبي لإحياء ذكرى لوحاته الدرامية مجموعة رائعة من الطيور ، والتي انقرض العديد منها الآن. جلب الأصوات التي تتحدث عن الاستعمار والتصنيع والهوية الوطنية والأسطورة ، طيور أمريكا يقارن وجهات النظر المعاصرة مع تلك التي كانت في أوائل القرن التاسع عشر لإعادة النظر في ما هي عليه أمريكا اليوم. عرض الفيلم لأول مرة في CPH: DOX في عام 2021 واستمر في اللعب في مهرجانات أخرى بما في ذلك مهرجان روتردام السينمائي الدولي ؛ سيكون هذا أحد عروضها الأولى في الولايات المتحدة مصحوبة بمقالات كتبها كاتب السيناريو والكاتب المسرحي دوروثي فورتنبيري (حكاية الخادمة ، الاستقراء) ومن قبل المؤلف والصحفي كال فلين (جزر التخلي) حول انهيار النظام البيئي وكيف أدى إلى تصورات إبداعية للحياة في المناظر الطبيعية الجديدة. 

عن الكتاب: 

دوروثي فورتنبيري كاتب سيناريو وكاتب مسرحي. هي منتج تنفيذي لـ استقراء، مسلسل تلفزيوني قادم حول تغير المناخ على + Apple TV. عملت كمنتجة وكاتبة في المسلسل الحائز على جائزة إيمي حكاية الخادمة، وكان أيضًا كاتبًا لسلسلة الخيال العلمي لما بعد المروع 100. بالإضافة إلى الكتابة للتلفزيون ، كتب Fortenberry عدة مسرحيات منها شركاء و الأنواع الأصلية في ولاية كاليفورنيا. ظهرت مقالاتها في مراجعة لوس أنجلوس للكتب, بسيط حقيقي، و معيار المحيط الهادئ. حصلت على جائزة هيلين ميريل للكتاب المسرحيين الناشئين ، الحائزة على جائزة عام 2021 لجورج دبليو هانت ، SJ ، جائزة الصحافة والفنون والآداب عن العمل المتميز في فئة الكاتب الخيالي أو المسرحي ، وتحمل درجة الماجستير في الكتابة المسرحية. من مدرسة ييل للدراما.

كال فلين كاتب حاصل على جوائز من مرتفعات اسكتلندا. تكتب قصصي أدبي وصحافة طويلة. كتابها الأول ، أكثف من الماء، حول عنف الحدود في أستراليا الاستعمارية ، كان أ مرات كتاب العام. كتابها الثاني ، أناأراضي الهجر- حول علم البيئة وعلم النفس للأماكن المهجورة - خرج الآن. تم ترشيحها لعدد من الجوائز ، بما في ذلك جائزة Wainwright للكتابة عن الحفظ العالمي ، وجائزة الأكاديمية البريطانية للكتاب ، وجائزة Baillie Gifford للواقعية. تم نشر كتابات كال الصحفية في جرانتا ، مجلة صنداي تايمز ، مجلة تلغراف ، الإيكونوميست ، و اخرين.

التذاكر: $15 / $11 كبار وطلاب / $9 شباب (تتراوح أعمارهم من 3 إلى 17 عامًا) / مجانية أو مخفضة لأعضاء MoMI. طلب التذاكر. يرجى استلام التذاكر من مكتب القبول بالمتحف عند الوصول. جميع المقاعد القبول العام. إعادة النظر بروتوكولات الأمان قبل زيارتك.

شارك

العربية

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

Courtesy of mk2 Films

SCREENING

Birds of America

Sunday, May 22 at 3:00 PM

Location: Bartos Screening Room

Dir. Jacques Loeuille. 2021, 80 mins. An atmospheric essay film, Birds of America retraces the steps of famed French ornithologist John James Audubon as he traveled along the Mississippi memorializing with his dramatic paintings a remarkable range of birds, many of which are now extinct. Bringing in voices that speak to colonialism, industrialization, national identity, and myth, Birds of America juxtaposes contemporary views with those of the early 19th century to reconsider what America is today. The film premiered at CPH:DOX in 2021 and went on to play at other festivals including the International Film Festival Rotterdam; this will be one of its first screenings in the U.S. Accompanied by essays by screenwriter and playwright Dorothy Fortenberry (The Handmaid’s Tale, Extrapolations) and by author and journalist Cal Flyn (Islands of Abandonment) about ecosystem collapse and how it has prompted creative envisionings of life in new landscapes. 

About the writers: 

Dorothy Fortenberry is a screenwriter and playwright. She is an executive producer of Extrapolations, an upcoming television series about climate change on Apple TV+. She has served as producer and writer for the Emmy Award–winning series The Handmaid’s Tale, and has also been a writer for the postapocalyptic science fiction series The 100. In addition to writing for television, Fortenberry has written several plays, including Partners and Species Native to California. Her essays have appeared in The Los Angeles Review of Books, Real Simple, and Pacific Standard. She is a recipient of the Helen Merrill Award for Emerging Playwrights, the 2021 laureate of the George W. Hunt, S.J., Prize for Journalism, Arts & Letters for outstanding work in the category of fiction writer or dramatist, and holds an MFA in playwriting from the Yale School of Drama.

Cal Flyn is an award-winning writer from the Highlands of Scotland. She writes literary nonfiction and long-form journalism. Her first book, Thicker Than Water, about frontier violence in colonial Australia, was a Times book of the year. Her second book, Islands of Abandonment—about the ecology and psychology of abandoned places—is out now. It has been shortlisted for a number of prizes, including the Wainwright Prize for writing on global conservation, the British Academy Book Prize, and the Baillie Gifford Prize for nonfiction. Cal’s journalistic writing has been published in Granta, The Sunday Times Magazine, Telegraph Magazine, The Economist, and others.

Tickets: $15 / $11 senior and students / $9 youth (ages 3–17) / Free or discounted for MoMI members. Order tickets. Please pick up tickets at the Museum’s admissions desk upon arrival. All seating is general admission. Review safety protocols before your visit.

Share

English