搜索活动影像博物馆

加载活动

筛选

古典电影

正在进行中

唐纳德·索辛的现场音乐

随着剧院老板竭尽全力吸引更高档的客户,制片人的回应是掠夺历史和文学作品。高级的法国和意大利进口产品提供了这种模式,到 1912 年,大多数制片厂都在寻找经典作品,为他们的单卷喜剧和情节剧节目增添一层可敬的外表。

程序运行大约 70 分钟。

1912年的所有电影。

日本田园诗

目录路易斯·韦伯。 35 毫米,美国国会图书馆。通用雷克斯。 蝴蝶夫人 仍然受版权保护,所以环球影业最雄心勃勃的作家兼导演兼演员想出了她自己的单卷版本,讲述了一位日本女仆(樱花,由韦伯自己饰演)和一位来访的美国人之间的苦乐参半。当然,有了这种免费的改编,如果你修复结局,没有人会介意。

杰基尔博士和海德先生

目录卢修斯·亨德森。 35 毫米,美国国会图书馆。坦豪斯。罗伯特·路易斯·史蒂文森关于人格分裂的恶魔般的故事在舞台上取得了巨大的成功,并且也被证明是银幕改编的自然之选。导演 Lucius Henderson 因其两个主要角色的表现而受到高度赞扬——尽管最近的研究表明,在所有的化妆下它可能并不总是科鲁兹。

孩子们的哭声

目录乔治·尼科尔斯。 16mm,坦豪斯公司。坦豪斯。进步时代对童工的可怕攻击,内部是在坦豪瑟的新罗谢尔工作室附近的一个邪恶工厂拍摄的。伊丽莎白·巴雷特·布朗宁 1843 年诗中的引语似乎旨在让一切变得不那么令人震惊,但即使是诗歌也无法缓和这部电影无望的结局。

罗宾汉

目录艾蒂安·阿尔诺。 35mm,李堡电影委员会。泡芙。这部现存最早的罗宾汉电影在 Éclair 在李堡的新工作室拍摄,其灵感来自于雷金纳德·德·科文 (Reginald De Koven) 曾经流行的轻歌剧,而不是霍华德·派尔的插图。这部半小时的史诗旨在将欧洲风格和感性与美国明星(罗伯特·弗雷泽饰演罗宾,芭芭拉·坦南特饰演女仆玛丽安)和地点(无论帕利塞德提供什么)结合起来。

博物馆免费入场,先到先得。博物馆会员可致电 718 777 6800 提前预订门票。有关成为博物馆会员和在线加入的更多信息,请点击 这里.

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

SCREENING

Classical Cinema

Ongoing

Live music by Donald Sosin

With theater owners doing their best to attract a more upscale clientele, producers responded by plundering history and literature. High-class French and Italian imports provided the model, and by 1912 most studios were looking to the classics to add a veneer of respectability to their programs of one-reel comedies and melodramas.

Program runs approximately 70 minutes.

All films from 1912.

A Japanese Idyll

Dir. Lois Weber. 35mm, Library of Congress. Universal-Rex. Madame Butterfly was still under copyright, so Universal’s most ambitious writer-director-actor came up with her own one-reel version of the bittersweet encounter between a Japanese maid (Cherry Blossom, played by Weber herself) and a visiting American. Of course, with an adaptation this free, no one will mind if you fix the ending.

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Dir. Lucius Henderson. 35mm, Library of Congress. Thanhouser. Robert Louis Stevenson’s diabolical tale of split personality had been a great success onstage, and would prove a natural for screen adaptation as well. Director Lucius Henderson was highly praised for his performance of both main roles—although recent scholarship suggests that it may not always be Cruze under all that makeup.

The Cry of the Children

Dir. George Nichols. 16mm, Thanhouser Company. Thanhouser. A horrifying progressive-era attack on child labor, with interiors shot in a satanic mill near Thanhouser’s New Rochelle studio. Quotations from Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s 1843 poem seem designed to make everything less appalling, but even poetry can’t do much to soften this film’s hopeless conclusion.

Robin Hood

Dir. Ètienne Arnaud. 35mm, Fort Lee Film Commission. Éclair. Shot at Éclair’s new studio in Fort Lee, this earliest surviving Robin Hood film was inspired less by Howard Pyle’s illustrations than by Reginald De Koven’s once-popular operetta. The half-hour epic was intended to combine European style and sensibility with American stars (Robert Frazer as Robin, Barbara Tennant as Maid Marian) and locations (whatever the Palisades might offer).

Free with Museum admission on a first-come, first-served basis. Museum members may reserve tickets in advance by calling 718 777 6800. For more information about becoming a Museum member and to join online, please click here.

English