ابحث في متحف الصورة المتحركة

تحميل الأحداث

تحري

السينما الكلاسيكية

جاري التنفيذ

الموسيقى الحية لدونالد سوسين

مع بذل مالكي المسارح قصارى جهدهم لجذب المزيد من العملاء الراقيين ، رد المنتجون بنهب التاريخ والأدب. قدمت الواردات الفرنسية والإيطالية رفيعة المستوى النموذج ، وبحلول عام 1912 كانت معظم الاستوديوهات تتطلع إلى الكلاسيكيات لإضافة قشرة من الاحترام لبرامجهم من الكوميديا والميلودراما ذات البكرة الواحدة.

يعمل البرنامج حوالي 70 دقيقة.

جميع الأفلام من عام 1912.

شعر ياباني

دير. لويس ويبر. 35 ملم ، مكتبة الكونغرس. يونيفرسال ريكس. مدام بطرفلاى كانت لا تزال تحت حقوق الطبع والنشر ، لذلك ابتكرت الكاتبة والمخرج والممثل الأكثر طموحًا في Universal نسختها الخاصة المكونة من بكرة واحدة من لقاء حلو ومر بين خادمة يابانية (Cherry Blossom ، لعبت من قبل Weber نفسها) وأمريكية زائرة. بالطبع ، مع هذا التعديل المجاني ، لن يمانع أحد إذا قمت بإصلاح النهاية.

الدكتور جيكل والسيد هايد

دير. لوسيوس هندرسون. 35 ملم ، مكتبة الكونغرس. ثانهاوسر. حققت قصة روبرت لويس ستيفنسون الشيطانية عن الشخصية المنقسمة نجاحًا كبيرًا على خشبة المسرح ، وستثبت أنها طبيعية أيضًا لتكييف الشاشة. تم الثناء على المخرج لوسيوس هندرسون لأدائه لكلا الدورين الرئيسيين - على الرغم من أن المنح الدراسية الحديثة تشير إلى أنه قد لا يكون دائمًا كروز تحت كل هذا التركيب.

صرخة الاطفال

دير. جورج نيكولز. 16 ملم ، شركة ثانهاوسر. ثانهاوسر. هجوم مرعب من العصر التقدمي على عمالة الأطفال ، مع تصوير داخلي في طاحونة شيطانية بالقرب من استوديو ثانوسر نيو روشيل. يبدو أن الاقتباسات من قصيدة إليزابيث باريت براوننج عام 1843 مصممة لجعل كل شيء أقل ترويعًا ، لكن حتى الشعر لا يستطيع فعل الكثير لتخفيف الخاتمة اليائسة لهذا الفيلم.

روبن هود

دير. Ètienne Arnaud. 35 ملم ، لجنة فورت لي للأفلام. إكلير. تم تصوير فيلم Robin Hood الأقدم هذا الذي تم تصويره في استوديو Éclair الجديد في Fort Lee ، وكان مستوحى من الرسوم التوضيحية لهوارد بايل أكثر من أوبرا ريجنالد دي كوفين الذي كان شائعًا في يوم من الأيام. كانت الملحمة التي مدتها نصف ساعة تهدف إلى الجمع بين الأسلوب الأوروبي والحساسية مع النجوم الأمريكيين (روبرت فريزر في دور روبن ، وباربرا تينانت في دور الخادمة ماريان) والمواقع (أيًا كان ما قد تقدمه Palisades).

مجانًا مع دخول المتحف على أساس أسبقية الحضور. يمكن لأعضاء المتحف حجز التذاكر مسبقًا عن طريق الاتصال بالرقم 718777 6800. لمزيد من المعلومات حول الانضمام إلى عضوية المتحف والانضمام عبر الإنترنت ، يرجى النقر هنا.

العربية

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

SCREENING

Classical Cinema

Ongoing

Live music by Donald Sosin

With theater owners doing their best to attract a more upscale clientele, producers responded by plundering history and literature. High-class French and Italian imports provided the model, and by 1912 most studios were looking to the classics to add a veneer of respectability to their programs of one-reel comedies and melodramas.

Program runs approximately 70 minutes.

All films from 1912.

A Japanese Idyll

Dir. Lois Weber. 35mm, Library of Congress. Universal-Rex. Madame Butterfly was still under copyright, so Universal’s most ambitious writer-director-actor came up with her own one-reel version of the bittersweet encounter between a Japanese maid (Cherry Blossom, played by Weber herself) and a visiting American. Of course, with an adaptation this free, no one will mind if you fix the ending.

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Dir. Lucius Henderson. 35mm, Library of Congress. Thanhouser. Robert Louis Stevenson’s diabolical tale of split personality had been a great success onstage, and would prove a natural for screen adaptation as well. Director Lucius Henderson was highly praised for his performance of both main roles—although recent scholarship suggests that it may not always be Cruze under all that makeup.

The Cry of the Children

Dir. George Nichols. 16mm, Thanhouser Company. Thanhouser. A horrifying progressive-era attack on child labor, with interiors shot in a satanic mill near Thanhouser’s New Rochelle studio. Quotations from Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s 1843 poem seem designed to make everything less appalling, but even poetry can’t do much to soften this film’s hopeless conclusion.

Robin Hood

Dir. Ètienne Arnaud. 35mm, Fort Lee Film Commission. Éclair. Shot at Éclair’s new studio in Fort Lee, this earliest surviving Robin Hood film was inspired less by Howard Pyle’s illustrations than by Reginald De Koven’s once-popular operetta. The half-hour epic was intended to combine European style and sensibility with American stars (Robert Frazer as Robin, Barbara Tennant as Maid Marian) and locations (whatever the Palisades might offer).

Free with Museum admission on a first-come, first-served basis. Museum members may reserve tickets in advance by calling 718 777 6800. For more information about becoming a Museum member and to join online, please click here.

English