搜索活动影像博物馆

请注意:所有 5 岁及以上的游客都需要提供疫苗接种证明(成人需出示带照片的身份证),并且每个人都必须戴口罩。 阅读我们所有的安全指南.

加载活动

安装视图 万一发生月球灾难 (照片:Thanassi Karageorgiou)

展览

Deepfake:屏幕上的不稳定证据

1970 年 1 月 1 日,星期四

地点:不断变化的展览馆

移动图像媒体比以往任何时候都更容易受到操纵,难以区分事实与虚构、真实与幻觉。机器学习技术促成了“深度伪造”的创建:故意扭曲或捏造真实事件的视频。 Deepfakes 在一个特别脆弱的时刻进入了运动图像生态系统:社交媒体为任何视频创造了机会,可以立即广泛分享,并基于根深蒂固的观点进行相信或争论。本次展览展示了各种媒体,展示了屏幕上真相的不稳定性,并将它们置于从 19 世纪末到 21 世纪初的历史连续体中。虽然展览确定了深度伪造和其他形式的合成媒体所带来的危险,但它也承认了它们在亲社会应用中所固有的可能性。

的核心 深度伪造 是 万一发生月球灾难,由 Francesca Panetta 和 Halsey Burgund 共同导演的令人震惊的令人信服的视频,它使用 deepfake 技术来假设阿波罗 11 号任务的另一个历史,在指定客厅的电视机上播放。 万一发生月球灾难 是麻省理工学院高级虚拟生产中心。该项目在今年早些时候获得了艾美奖杰出互动媒体:纪录片。

Deepfake:屏幕上的不稳定证据 由 MoMI 策展事务副主任 Barbara Miller 和亨德里克斯学院英语、电影与媒体研究助理教授、麻省理工学院开放纪录片实验室研究员 Joshua Glick 组织。

展览将伴随着系列 不规则证据:电影中的深度伪造和可疑镜头,它将以放映和其他公共节目为特色,从各种角度探讨合成媒体,研究证据镜头在电影中被操纵或模仿的无数方式。

参观展览的费用包含在博物馆门票内。提前订购定时入场券 这里.

图片来源:Thanassi Karageorgiu / 动态影像博物馆

照片库

分享

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

Installation view of In Event of Moon Disaster (Photo: Thanassi Karageorgiou)

EXHIBITION

Deepfake: Unstable Evidence on Screen

Saturday, Dec 18, 2021 - May 15, 2022

Location: Changing Exhibitions Gallery

Moving image media is more susceptible than ever to manipulations that make it hard to separate fact from fiction and truth from illusion. Machine-learning technology has enabled the creation of “deepfakes”: videos that intentionally distort or fabricate events. Deepfakes have entered the moving image ecosystem at a particularly vulnerable moment: social media creates the opportunity for any video to be shared widely and immediately, and believed or contested based on entrenched points of view. This exhibition presents a variety of media that demonstrate the instability of on-screen truths, and places them in a historical continuum from the late 19th through the early 21st centuries. While the exhibition identifies the dangers presented by deepfakes and other forms of synthetic media, it also acknowledges the possibilities inherent in their prosocial applications.

The centerpiece of Deepfake is In Event of Moon Disaster, a startlingly convincing video co-directed by Francesca Panetta and Halsey Burgund that uses deepfake technology to suppose an alternate history of the Apollo 11 mission, presented on a television set in a period-appointed living room. In Event of Moon Disaster is an MIT Center for Advanced Virtuality production. The project won an Emmy Award for Outstanding Interactive Media: Documentary earlier this year.

Deepfake: Unstable Evidence on Screen was organized by Barbara Miller, MoMI’s Deputy Director for Curatorial Affairs, and Joshua Glick, Assistant Professor of English, Film & Media Studies at Hendrix College and a Fellow at the Open Documentary Lab at MIT.

The exhibition will be accompanied by the series Irregular Evidence: Deepfakes and Suspect Footage in Film, which will feature screenings and other public programs that probe synthetic media from a variety of perspectives, looking at the myriad ways evidentiary footage has been manipulated or mimicked in film.

Access to the exhibition is included with Museum admission. Order advance timed-entry tickets here.

Photo credit: Thanassi Karageorgiu / Museum of the Moving Image

Photo Gallery

Share

English