搜索活动影像博物馆

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. 阅读更新的安全指南.

加载活动

事件

奇妙的航程和代表 COVID-19

1970 年 1 月 1 日,星期四

好莱坞和疾病控制与预防中心在视觉上表示对人体的微观威胁方面也面临着类似的挑战。标志性的科幻电影 奇妙的航程 (1966 年)和 2019 年无处不在的 COVID-19 插图都呈现出难以捉摸但危及生命的疾病。

奥斯卡奖得主 奇妙的航程, 由 Richard Fleischer 执导,因其对身体及其内部的描绘而成为具有里程碑意义的作品。由拉奎尔·韦尔奇和唐纳德·普利森斯主演, 奇妙的航程 想象一个医疗技术人员进入人体治疗疾病的未来;他们被缩小并注射到一位了解冷战军事机密的垂死科学家体内,以消灭位于无法手术区域的血块。纳米机器人和腹腔镜相机现在可以进入这些内部领域,所以 奇妙的航程 其电影视野的先见之明仍然很吸引人。医学插图,就像特效一样,可以呈现出具有独特能力的审美图像,以捕捉想象力,以及告知和教育。 2020 年的尖刺——SARS-CoV-2 病毒的图解 新冠肺炎——已成为与当前大流行相关的标志性图像,比任何直接的病毒技术可视化都更普遍和更具挑衅性。

6 月 25 日,动态影像博物馆 屏幕上的科学 系列很高兴欢迎 CDC 医学插图画家艾丽莎·埃克特(Alissa Eckert)与科学技术学者和作家大卫·瑟林(David Serlin)进行对话和问答,包括剪辑和图像(想象疾病:公共卫生和视觉文化)。对话将考虑插图和可视化、公共教育和可访问性,以及 COVID-19 形象的发展。

艾丽莎·埃克特 是疾病控制和预防中心 (CDC) 的医学插画师。她与同事丹·希金斯(Dan Higgins)一起创作了新型冠状病毒的插图。她在 CDC 工作了 14 年,从事健康信息、教育和应急响应插图工作,包括埃博拉病毒、霍乱、淋病、寨卡病毒、麻疹等。 Alissa Eckert 拥有乔治亚大学的科学插图学士学位和乔治亚医学院的医学插图理学硕士学位。

大卫·瑟林 是加州大学圣地亚哥分校传播与科学研究副教授。他还是哥伦比亚大学社会差异研究中心的附属教师。瑟林教授的著作包括 想象疾病:公共卫生和视觉文化 (明尼苏达大学出版社,2010 年)和 可替代的你:战后美国的身体工程 (芝加哥大学出版社,2004 年)。他是一名特约编辑 内阁 杂志和在线杂志的创始编辑 催化剂:女权主义、理论、技术科学.

分享

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: Proof of vaccination is required for all visitors ages 5 and older (with photo ID for adults), and everyone must wear face masks. Read all our guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

EVENT

Fantastic Voyage and Representing COVID-19

Thursday, Jun 25, 2020

Hollywood and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention have faced similar challenges in visually representing microscopic threats to the human body. The iconic sci-fi film Fantastic Voyage (1966) and the ubiquitous 2019 illustration of COVID-19 both render elusive yet life-threatening ailments.

The Academy Award-winning Fantastic Voyage, directed by Richard Fleischer, is a landmark for its depiction of the body and its interior. Starring Raquel Welch and Donald Pleasence, Fantastic Voyage imagines a future in which medical technicians literally enter the body to treat illness; they are shrunk and injected into a dying scientist who knows Cold War military secrets, in order to annihilate a blood clot situated in an inoperable area. Nanorobots and laparoscopic cameras can now enter these inner realms, so Fantastic Voyage remains intriguing for the prescience of its cinematic vision. Medical illustration, like special effects, can present an aestheticized image with the unique capacity to capture the imagination, as well as to inform and educate. In 2020 the spiky blob—the illustration of the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19—has become an iconic image associated with the current pandemic, more prevalent and provocative than any direct technological visualization of the virus.

On June 25, Museum of the Moving Image’s Science on Screen series is thrilled to welcome CDC medical illustrator Alissa Eckert, the person responsible for creating the image of the spiky blob, for a conversation and Q&A, including clips and images, with science and technology scholar and author David Serlin (Imagining Illness: Public Health and Visual Culture). The conversation will consider illustration and visualization, public education and accessibility, and the development of the image of COVID-19.

Alissa Eckert is a medical illustrator at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). She created the illustration of the novel coronavirus, together with colleague Dan Higgins. She has been at the CDC for 14 years, working on health information, education, and emergency response illustrations including for Ebola, cholera, gonorrhea, Zika, measles, and more. Alissa Eckert has a bachelor’s degree in scientific illustration from the University of Georgia and a Master of Science in medical illustration from the Medical College of Georgia.

David Serlin is Associate Professor of Communication and Science Studies at UC San Diego. He is also an affiliated faculty at the Center for the Study of Social Difference at Columbia University. Professor Serlin’s books include Imagining Illness: Public Health and Visual Culture (University of Minnesota Press, 2010) and Replaceable You: Engineering the Body in Postwar America (University of Chicago Press, 2004). He is an editor-at-large for Cabinet magazine and a founding editor of the online journal Catalyst: Feminism, Theory, Technoscience.

Share

English