ابحث في متحف الصورة المتحركة

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. اقرأ الإرشادات المحدثة للسلامة.

تحميل الأحداث

حدث

رحلة رائعة وتمثيل COVID-19

الخميس 1 يناير 1970

واجهت هوليوود ومراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها تحديات مماثلة في تمثيل التهديدات المجهرية بصريًا لجسم الإنسان. فيلم الخيال العلمي الشهير رحلة رائعة (1966) والتوضيح المنتشر لعام 2019 لـ COVID-19 كلاهما يجعل الأمراض بعيدة المنال ولكنها تهدد الحياة.

الحائز على جائزة الأوسكار رحلة رائعة, من إخراج ريتشارد فلايشر ، معلم بارز لتصويره للجسم وداخله. بطولة راكيل ويلش ودونالد بليسنس ، رحلة رائعة تخيل مستقبلاً يدخل فيه الفنيون الطبيون الجسم حرفياً لمعالجة المرض ؛ يتم تقليصها وحقنها في عالم يحتضر يعرف الأسرار العسكرية للحرب الباردة ، من أجل القضاء على جلطة دموية تقع في منطقة غير صالحة للعمل. يمكن للروبوتات النانوية والكاميرات بالمنظار الآن دخول هذه العوالم الداخلية ، لذا رحلة رائعة لا تزال مثيرة للاهتمام لبصر رؤيتها السينمائية. يمكن أن يقدم الرسم التوضيحي الطبي ، مثل المؤثرات الخاصة ، صورة جمالية ذات قدرة فريدة على التقاط الخيال ، وكذلك للإعلام والتثقيف. في عام 2020 ، النقطة الشائكة - رسم توضيحي لفيروس SARS-CoV-2 المسبب كوفيد -19- أصبحت صورة أيقونية مرتبطة بالوباء الحالي ، أكثر انتشارًا واستفزازًا من أي تصور تكنولوجي مباشر للفيروس.

في 25 يونيو ، متحف الصور المتحركة العلم على الشاشة يسر المسلسل الترحيب بالرسامة الطبية في مركز السيطرة على الأمراض ، أليسا إيكرت ، الشخص المسؤول عن إنشاء صورة النقطة الشائكة ، لإجراء محادثة وأسئلة وأجوبة ، بما في ذلك المقاطع والصور ، مع عالم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والمؤلف ديفيد سيرلين (تخيل المرض: الصحة العامة والثقافة البصرية). ستنظر المحادثة في التوضيح والتصور والتعليم العام وإمكانية الوصول وتطوير صورة COVID-19.

أليسا إيكرت رسام رسام طبي في مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC). ابتكرت رسمًا توضيحيًا لفيروس كورونا الجديد ، مع زميلها دان هيغينز. تعمل في مركز السيطرة على الأمراض لمدة 14 عامًا ، وتعمل على المعلومات الصحية والتعليم والرسوم التوضيحية للاستجابة للطوارئ بما في ذلك الإيبولا والكوليرا والسيلان وزيكا والحصبة والمزيد. أليسا إيكرت حاصلة على درجة البكالوريوس في الرسم التوضيحي العلمي من جامعة جورجيا وماجستير العلوم في التوضيح الطبي من كلية الطب في جورجيا.

ديفيد سيرلين أستاذ مشارك في دراسات الاتصال والعلوم في جامعة كاليفورنيا في سان دييغو. وهو أيضًا عضو هيئة تدريس منتسب في مركز دراسة الفروق الاجتماعية بجامعة كولومبيا. تشمل كتب البروفيسور سيرلين تخيل المرض: الصحة العامة والثقافة البصرية (مطبعة جامعة مينيسوتا ، 2010) و بديل لك: هندسة الجسد في أمريكا ما بعد الحرب (مطبعة جامعة شيكاغو ، 2004). وهو محرر متجول في خزانة مجلة ومحرر مؤسس للمجلة على الإنترنت المحفز: النسوية ، النظرية ، العلوم التكنولوجية.

شارك

العربية

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: Proof of vaccination is required for all visitors ages 5 and older (with photo ID for adults), and everyone must wear face masks. Read all our guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

EVENT

Fantastic Voyage and Representing COVID-19

Thursday, Jun 25, 2020

Hollywood and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention have faced similar challenges in visually representing microscopic threats to the human body. The iconic sci-fi film Fantastic Voyage (1966) and the ubiquitous 2019 illustration of COVID-19 both render elusive yet life-threatening ailments.

The Academy Award-winning Fantastic Voyage, directed by Richard Fleischer, is a landmark for its depiction of the body and its interior. Starring Raquel Welch and Donald Pleasence, Fantastic Voyage imagines a future in which medical technicians literally enter the body to treat illness; they are shrunk and injected into a dying scientist who knows Cold War military secrets, in order to annihilate a blood clot situated in an inoperable area. Nanorobots and laparoscopic cameras can now enter these inner realms, so Fantastic Voyage remains intriguing for the prescience of its cinematic vision. Medical illustration, like special effects, can present an aestheticized image with the unique capacity to capture the imagination, as well as to inform and educate. In 2020 the spiky blob—the illustration of the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19—has become an iconic image associated with the current pandemic, more prevalent and provocative than any direct technological visualization of the virus.

On June 25, Museum of the Moving Image’s Science on Screen series is thrilled to welcome CDC medical illustrator Alissa Eckert, the person responsible for creating the image of the spiky blob, for a conversation and Q&A, including clips and images, with science and technology scholar and author David Serlin (Imagining Illness: Public Health and Visual Culture). The conversation will consider illustration and visualization, public education and accessibility, and the development of the image of COVID-19.

Alissa Eckert is a medical illustrator at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). She created the illustration of the novel coronavirus, together with colleague Dan Higgins. She has been at the CDC for 14 years, working on health information, education, and emergency response illustrations including for Ebola, cholera, gonorrhea, Zika, measles, and more. Alissa Eckert has a bachelor’s degree in scientific illustration from the University of Georgia and a Master of Science in medical illustration from the Medical College of Georgia.

David Serlin is Associate Professor of Communication and Science Studies at UC San Diego. He is also an affiliated faculty at the Center for the Study of Social Difference at Columbia University. Professor Serlin’s books include Imagining Illness: Public Health and Visual Culture (University of Minnesota Press, 2010) and Replaceable You: Engineering the Body in Postwar America (University of Chicago Press, 2004). He is an editor-at-large for Cabinet magazine and a founding editor of the online journal Catalyst: Feminism, Theory, Technoscience.

Share

English