搜索活动影像博物馆

加载活动

由 Liniya Lavin 提供

事件

FORMA:家庭音乐之夜

1970年1月1日星期四 8:00 下午

MoMI 呈现由客座策展人 Sarah Von H 组织的全新音乐会和媒体系列 FORMA,该系列的作者和文化杂志创始人 罕见的和平. FORMA 是一个专注于音乐在媒体中的形态和形式的系列,重点突出不同艺术家和音乐家的贡献。

对于我们的第一个活动,我们将举办一个专门探索家庭音乐的晚会,包括讨论、舞会和多屏视频艺术演示。 DJ br0nz3_g0dd3ss、Kalifa(原名 Le1f)、Stonie Blue 和 Kif 将在博物馆庭院举行户外舞会,随后将讨论家庭音乐对黑人社区的影响。

随着迪斯科热潮的消退,被称为“House Music 教父”的 Frankie Knuckles 和 Ron Hardy 等开创性的黑人 DJ 在开始尝试鼓机和合成器,尤其是标志性的 Roland 时,很快就成为了这座城市的焦点。 TR-808。主要是黑人、拉丁裔和酷儿观众涌向他们的场地,仓库和音乐盒,被包容、庇护般的场景所吸引。不久之后,像 Gramophone 和 Trax 这样的传奇唱片公司成立,致力于在全国和全球传播家庭音乐的声音。剩下的就是历史了。 

视频艺术演示

8:00–11:30 pm,大堂墙和咖啡厅

整晚,数字艺术家 7thgrl 的多屏视频装置将在博物馆一楼循环播放。 7thgrl 的视频专注于呈现黑色舞厅场景和 voguing 的艺术。 7thgrl 最近出现在 时尚巴西, 英国时尚, CFDA, 和 雷克雅未克葡萄藤。

关于家庭音乐的对话

晚上 8:00–8:30,福克斯圆形剧场

在这场关于浩室音乐对黑人社区影响的对话中,受浩室音乐影响的 DJ 将谈论保持这一流派的活力。由音乐策展人 Sarah Von H. 主持。 

户外舞会

晚上 8:30–11:30,考夫曼庭院

来到我们的考夫曼庭院,随着当代最好的音乐集跳舞和时尚 家庭 DJ——br0nz3_g0dd3ss、Kalifa(以前称为 Le1f)、Stonie Blue 和 Kif——由 Karlala Soundsystem 提供声音。门票包括劳伦斯船长和 SingleCut 捐赠的小吃和啤酒。

门票:会员$25 / $15 / 学生$20。 订票。 请在抵达时在博物馆的售票处领取门票。审查 安全协议 在您访问之前。

博物馆参观者和电影观众可以添加 $10 的活动。

适用于 21 岁以上。

上图:DJ 卡利法,彼得·霍内曼摄

       

分享

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

Courtesy of Liniya Lavin

EVENT

FORMA: A Night of House Music

Friday, Jul 15 at 8:00 PM

MoMI presents FORMA, a new concert and media series organized by guest curator Sarah Von H, the writer and founder of the cultural journal RAREPEACE. FORMA is a series dedicated to the shape and form that music takes in media and focuses on highlighting the contributions of diverse artists and musicians.

For our first event, we are hosting an evening devoted to exploring house music, featuring a panel discussion, dance party, and multiscreen video art presentations. DJs br0nz3_g0dd3ss, Kalifa (formerly known as Le1f), Stonie Blue, and Kif will be spinning for an outdoor dance party in the Museum’s courtyard, preceded by a conversation about the impact of house music on the Black community.

Following the decline of disco fever, pioneering Black DJs like Frankie Knuckles, also known as “The Godfather of House Music,” and Ron Hardy were quickly thrust into the city’s spotlight as they began to experiment with drum machines and synths, especially the iconic Roland TR-808. Predominantly Black, Latinx, and queer audiences flocked to their venues, the Warehouse and the Muzic Box, drawn in by the inclusive, sanctuary-like scene. It wasn’t long until fabled record labels like Gramophone and Trax were founded, devoted to spreading the sound of house music across the country and the globe. The rest is history. 

Video Art Presentations

8:00–11:30 p.m., Lobby Wall & Café

All night long, a multiscreen video installation by digital artist 7thgrl will play on loop on the first floor of the Museum. 7thgrl’s videos are focused on representing the Black ballroom scene and the art of voguing. 7thgrl was recently featured in Vogue Brazil, British Vogue, CFDA, and Reykjavik Grapevine.

A Conversation on House Music

8:00–8:30 p.m., Fox Amphitheater

In this conversation about the impact of house music on the Black community, DJs influenced by house music will talk about keeping the genre alive. Moderated by music curator Sarah Von H. 

Outdoor Dance Party

8:30–11:30 p.m., Kaufman Courtyard

Come to our Kaufman courtyard to dance and vogue to the music sets of the best contemporary House DJs—br0nz3_g0dd3ss, Kalifa (formerly known as Le1f), Stonie Blue, Kif, and more to be announced—with sound provided by Karlala Soundsystem. Tickets include refreshments to snack on and beer donated by Captain Lawrence.

Tickets: $25 / $15 for members / $20 for students. Order tickets. Please pick up tickets at the Museum’s admissions desk upon arrival. Review safety protocols before your visit.

Museum visitors and film audience members can add on the event for $10.

For ages 21+.