搜索活动影像博物馆

加载活动

筛选

Old School Kung Fu Fest: Joseph Kuo Online

1970 年 1 月 1 日,星期四

作为地铁影院广受欢迎的老派功夫节的一部分,现在已经进入第九届,博物馆将在其虚拟影院中举办四部由台湾独立导演郭文贵重新修复的电影。作为一名作家、制片人和导演,他经营着自己的制作公司 Hong Hwa International Films,他对最低预算产生了最大的影响。结合这些流媒体影片,MoMI 和 Subway Cinema 将展示 博物馆的五部电影, 12 月 10 日至 13 日。

门票:一部电影$6 / MoMI会员$5。系列通行证(所有 4 部在线电影):$20 / $16 MoMI 成员。电影可在 12 月 6 日至 16 日在线观看。

立即观看。 

 

少林功夫
目录约瑟夫·郭。 1974 年,93 分钟。普通话,英文字幕。与文江龙、易远、刘秀云。 1972 年至 1974 年间,混蛋王宇和飞踢专家温江龙一起制作了七部电影,其中包括翻拍他们的电影。 栗子力社, 拍摄前一年。在这里,温扮演了一个黄包车夫,他向盲人妻子承诺他不会打架。事实证明,当一家竞争对手的人力车公司不断偷走他的车费、欺负一个卖煮鸡蛋的孩子并绑架他的妻子时,这个承诺很难兑现。一系列不断升级的斗殴爆发,达到了充满折磨的高潮——别担心,少林寺有一个(非常)简短的闪回来证明这部电影的标题是正确的。事实证明,当您添加一点 Kuo 时,没有一种电影类型不会变得更好。

少林少儿
目录约瑟夫·郭。 1975 年,88 分钟。普通话,英文字幕。与 Polly Shang-kuan、Tien Peng、Carter Huang(又名 Carter Wong)。明朝初年,朱元璋相信他的宰相吴维镛想要继位。作为报复,他让吴、他的家人和他最亲近的三万人被谋杀。尽管如此,历史普遍认为朱皇帝是一位善良而有效的领导者。另一方面,吴被认为是一个肮脏的叛徒,并且 少林少儿 这是一个很大程度上虚构的故事,讲述了勇敢的英雄和悲惨的烈士,他们努力让慈祥的朱皇帝注意到他的背叛。这个豪华时期的练习让他回到了武侠剑术的世界,这次让一个女人坐在驾驶座上。波莉尚宽被台湾伟大的电影创新者胡王发现 龙客栈,在这里,她扮演一名被吴丞相谋杀的朝廷官员的女儿,作为他未遂政变的第一步。她召集了一群朋友,组成了一个由自由战士组成的杂乱无章的乐队,并为了报复而破坏了头骨。

老师傅
目录约瑟夫·郭。 1979 年,90 分钟。普通话,英文字幕。与余进元大师、Bill Louie 合作。有史以来最奇特的电影之一,这部备受追捧的经典电影由成龙、洪金宝和元睿的老师余进元大师主演。当代洛杉矶的水上钓鱼武术家。 74岁的余老爷子在城里拯救他的一所懒惰学生的功夫学校,这孩子因赌债差点失去,但他发现他的学生正在通过设置师父来偿还他的欠款于打架并押注结果。幸运的是,他遇到了美国空手道冠军比尔·路易并同意教他功夫(路易的另一位老师是玩具机器人——是的,你没听错)。配备了耳蜗合成器配乐和对迪斯科的完整和完全的承诺,这部电影感觉就像一个你无法醒来的噩梦。

醉酒大师的世界
目录约瑟夫·郭。 1979 年,88 分钟。普通话,英文字幕。与 Jack Long、Mark Long(又名 Lung Kuan-wu)、Li Yi-Min、Jeanie Chang、Simon Yuen。出现在成龙的1978年之间 鹰影中的蛇 1979 年 1 月去世,袁和平(袁和平 66 岁的父亲)在不少于 15 部电影中扮演苏乞丐这个角色,而郭文贵则制作了其中两部。第二, 醉酒大师的世界,是最好看、制作最好的郭电影之一,整部影片都是对袁世民永远塑造的功夫角色的感人致敬。在他去世仅 10 个月后获释,并由其儿子袁祥仁精心编排, 醉酒大师的世界 由 Chris Chen 拍摄,他继续拍摄成龙早期的许多电影(少爷,龙王)。杂技动作让你的关节疼痛,其无情的强度不断增加。

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Loading Events

SCREENING

Old School Kung Fu Fest: Joseph Kuo Online

Monday, Dec 6 - Thursday, Dec 16, 2021

As part of Subway Cinema’s popular Old School Kung Fu Fest, now in its ninth edition, the Museum is hosting four newly restored films by Taiwanese independent director Joseph Kuo in its Virtual Cinema. A writer, producer, and director who ran his own production company, Hong Hwa International Films, Kuo delivered maximum impact on minimum budgets. In conjunction with these streaming titles, MoMI and Subway Cinema will present five films at the Museum, December 10–13.

Tickets: $6 for one film / $5 MoMI members. Series pass (all 4 online films): $20 / $16 MoMI members. Films are available for online viewing December 6–16.

Watch now. 

 

Shaolin Kung Fu
Dir. Joseph Kuo. 1974, 93 mins. In Mandarin with English subtitles. With Wen Chiang-lung, Yi Yuan, Liu Hsiu-yun. Badass brawler Jimmy Wang Yu and flying kick specialist Wen Chiang-lung made seven movies together between 1972 and 1974, including this remake of their Rikisha Kuri, shot the previous year. Here, Wen plays a rickshaw driver who has promised his blind wife he won’t fight. Turns out that’s a hard promise to keep when a rival rickshaw company keeps stealing his fares, bullying a kid selling hard-boiled eggs, and kidnapping his wife. A series of escalating brawls break out, building to a torture-filled climax—and don’t worry, there’s a (very) brief flashback to Shaolin Temple to justify the title of the film. Turns out there’s no film genre that doesn’t get better when you add a little Kuo.

Shaolin Kids
Dir. Joseph Kuo. 1975, 88 mins. In Mandarin with English subtitles. With Polly Shang-kuan, Tien Peng, Carter Huang (aka Carter Wong). In the early Ming Dynasty, the first Emperor Zhu believed his Chancellor, Wu Wei-yung, wanted to take over the throne. In retaliation, he had Wu, his family, and 30,000 of his nearest and dearest murdered. Despite this, history generally remembers Emperor Zhu as a kind and effective leader. Wu, on the other hand, is remembered as a dirty traitor, and Shaolin Kids is the largely fictitious tale of the brave heroes and tragic martyrs who worked to bring his treachery to the attention of kindly old Emperor Zhu. This posh period exercise allows him to return to the world of wu xia swordplay, this time putting a woman in the driver’s seat. Polly Shang-kuan was discovered by Taiwan’s great cinematic innovator King Hu in his groundbreaking Dragon Inn, and here she plays the daughter of a court official murdered by Chancellor Wu as the first step in his attempted coup. She rounds up a bunch of friends to form a ragtag band of freedom fighters and bust skulls in revenge.

The Old Master
Dir. Joseph Kuo. 1979, 90 mins. In Mandarin with English subtitles. With Master Yu Jim-yuen, Bill Louie.One of the strangest movies ever made, this cult-classic-in-the-making stars Master Yu Jim-yuen, the teacher of Jackie Chan, Sammo Hung, and Corey Yuen, as a fish-out-of-water martial artist in contemporary Los Angeles. The 74-year-old Master Yu is in town trying to save one of his lazy student’s kung fu schools, which the kid has almost lost through his gambling debts, but then he discovers that his student is paying off what he owes by setting Master Yu up in fights and betting on the outcome. Fortunately, he meets American karate champion Bill Louie and agrees to teach him kung fu (Louie’s other teacher is a toy robot—yes, you heard that right). Armed with an earworm synth soundtrack and a complete and total commitment to disco, this flick feels like a bad dream from which you just can’t wake up.

World of the Drunken Master
Dir. Joseph Kuo. 1979, 88 mins. In Mandarin with English subtitles. With Jack Long, Mark Long (aka Lung Kuan-wu), Li Yi-Min, Jeanie Chang, Simon Yuen. Between appearing in Jackie Chan’s 1978 Snake in the Eagle’s Shadow and dying in January 1979, Simon Yuen (Yuen Wo-ping’s 66-year-old father) played his Beggar So character in no less than 15 movies, and Joseph Kuo made two of them. The second, World of the Drunken Master, is one of the finest-looking, best-made Kuo movies, and the entire thing is a touching tribute to the kung fu character that Simon Yuen forever made his own. Released only 10 months after his death and with action choreographed by his son, Yuen Cheung-yan, World of the Drunken Master was shot by Chris Chen, who’d go on to film a lot of Jackie Chan’s early movies (Young Master, Dragon Lord). The acrobatic action makes your joints ache, and its relentless intensity just keeps ramping up.

English