搜索活动影像博物馆

加载活动

房间 H.264

展览

房间 H.264

1970 年 1 月 1 日,星期四

地点:视频放映圆形剧场

2018. Jeff Reichert(生于 1978 年,新泽西州诺斯菲尔德。居住在布鲁克林),Damon Smith(生于 1968 年在德克萨斯州休斯顿,Eric Hynes(生于 1974 年,纽约史泰登岛。居住在布鲁克林)。视频装置.

在他 1982 年的纪录片中 666室,德国导演维姆·文德斯提出了一个问题:“电影是一种死语言,一种已经处于衰落过程中的艺术吗?”包括史蒂文·斯皮尔伯格、米开朗基罗·安东尼奥尼、让-卢克·戈达尔、雷纳·维尔纳·法斯宾德等导演。

近 35 年后, 房间 H.264 邀请电影制作人回答同样的问题。每个电影制作人都在复制文德斯电影的特定条件下进行记录:受试者被单独留在酒店房间里,用三脚架安装的相机运行十分钟。 H.264 会议室:纽约州阿斯托利亚,2018 年 1 月放映在圆形露天剧场主屏幕上的影片,是根据 2018 年 1 月在长岛市纸厂酒店拍摄的片段制作的影片,该片段是在当年的 First Look 电影节期间拍摄的。侧面监视器是来自两者的原始、未经编辑的会话 房间 H.264 迄今为止,在布鲁克林和长岛市拍摄。 1982 年的 Wim Wenders 电影在基座上的监视器上播放。该装置的名称来源于流行的同名视频压缩标准,这是当今录制和分发运动图像最常用的格式之一。

房间 H.264 探索我们如何制作、观看和批判性地参与电影。屏幕之间的相互作用突出了在向无处不在的图像和界面的世界过渡中出现的问题,在过去和现在的屏幕文化概念与电影艺术状态之间建立了持续的对话。

第一眼 2019.

参演电影人:

费拉斯法耶兹

查理·莱恩

詹妮弗·布雷亚

拉娜·威尔逊

亨德里克·杜索里尔

伊娃·拉迪沃耶维奇

丹尼尔·科伯恩

大卫·奥西特

丹·萨利特

肯和阿扎泽尔·雅各布斯

阿什莉康纳

乔丹·英曼

亚当·迪特里希

让-皮埃尔·雷姆

迈克尔·科雷斯基

凯兰·海莉·马文

王南福

亚历山大·科比里泽

玛丽·维欧尼

瓦伦·巴杰

布莱克·威廉姆斯

莫斯卡佩利

王淼

马克·内西克

亚历山德拉沃特金斯

加勒特布拉德利

安德鲁·安

法里哈·扎曼

安德鲁·尼尔

凯尔史密斯

达蒙史密斯

凯特琳·梅·伯克

卢克·迈耶

蒂姆·萨顿

丹尼尔·帕特里克·卡本

约翰·威尔逊

伊丽莎白·苏布林

塞拉佩滕吉尔

扎克·克拉克

罗伯特·格林

帕乔·贝莱斯

克尔斯滕·约翰逊

埃里克·海因斯

肖恩·普莱斯·威廉姆斯

杰夫·赖克特

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: Proof of vaccination is required for all visitors ages 5 and older (with photo ID for adults), and everyone must wear face masks. Read all our guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

Room H.264

EXHIBITION

Room H.264

Saturday, Sep 15, 2018 - Jan 27, 2019

Location: Video Screening Amphitheater

2018. Jeff Reichert (b. 1978, Northfield, New Jersey. Resides in Brooklyn), Damon Smith (b. 1968 in Houston, Texas, Eric Hynes (b. 1974, Staten Island, New York. Resides in Brooklyn). Video installation.

In his 1982 documentary Room 666, German director Wim Wenders asked the question “Is cinema a dead language, an art which is already in the process of decline?” to directors including Steven Spielberg, Michelangelo Antonioni, Jean-Luc Godard, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, and others.

Nearly 35 years later, the makers of Room H.264 invited filmmakers to answer the same question. Each filmmaker was recorded under specific conditions replicating those of the Wenders film: The subjects were left alone in a hotel room with a tripod mounted camera running for ten minutes. Room H.264: Astoria, NY, January 2018, projected on the main screen in the Video Screening Amphitheater, is a film created from footage captured at the Paper Factory Hotel in Long Island City in January 2018 during that year’s First Look Festival. On side monitors are the raw, unedited sessions from the two Room H.264 shoots to date, in Brooklyn and Long Island City. The Wim Wenders film from 1982 plays on a monitor on a pedestal. The title of the installation is derived from the popular video compression standard of the same name, which is one of the most commonly used formats for recording and distributing moving images today.

Room H.264 explores how we make, view, and critically engage with movies. The interplay between screens highlights issues that have arisen in the transition to a world of ubiquitous images and interfaces, creating a running dialogue between past and present notions of screen culture and the state of cinematic arts.

Presented in conjunction with First Look 2019.

Participating filmmakers:

Firas Fayyad

Charlie Lyne

Jennifer Brea

Lana Wilson

Hendrick Dussolier

Iva Radivojevic

Daniel Cockburn

David Osit

Dan Sallitt

Ken and Azazel Jacobs

Ashley Connor

Jordan Inman

Adam Dietrich

Jean-Pierre Rehm

Michael Koresky

Kellan Hayley Marvin

Nanfu Wang

Alexander Koberidze

Marie Viognier

Varun Bajaj

Blake Williams

Mo Scarpelli

Miao Wang

Marc Nemcik

Alexandra Watkins

Garrett Bradley

Andrew Ahn

Farihah Zaman

Andrew Neel

Kyle Smith

Damon Smith

Caitlin Mae Burke

Luke Meyer

Tim Sutton

Daniel Patrick Carbone

John Wilson

Elisabeth Subrin

Sierra Pettengill

Zach Clark

Robert Greene

Pacho Velez

Kirsten Johnson

Eric Hynes

Sean Price Williams

Jeff Reichert

English