搜索活动影像博物馆

加载活动

筛选 + 介绍

Soylent Green(比尔·奈介绍)

1970年1月1日星期四下午3:00

地点:红石剧院

比尔·奈介绍 

目录理查德·弗莱舍。 1973 年,97 分钟。 DCP。与查尔顿·赫斯顿、莉·泰勒-杨、查克·康纳斯、约瑟夫·科顿、布洛克·彼得斯、保拉·凯利、爱德华·G·罗宾逊一起。现在是 2022 年,纽约市炎热、口渴、人口过剩且食物短缺。因此,理查德·弗莱舍 (Richard Fleischer) 的标志性科幻惊悚片开始了,这是第一部设想气候变化影响的具有生态意识的电影。侦探索恩(赫斯顿饰)正在调查一名商人(科顿饰)的谋杀案,他的富裕生活——新鲜水果、空调、自来水、配有女性的公寓——与大多数人的生活方式形成鲜明对比,他们睡在彼此身上并以一种名为 Soylent 的合成产品为生。追随雷切尔·卡森 (Rachel Carson) 等具有警示意义的地标 寂静的春天 (1962), Paul R. Ehrlich 的 人口炸弹 (1968), 和《清洁空气法》(1970 年), 超世纪谍杀案 是一部重要的电影,值得重新考虑,尤其是现在我们生活在它设定的那一年。传奇的科学教育家 比尔·奈 将放置 超世纪谍杀案 在上下文中,比较从 1973 年到今天对气候变化的了解,并讨论人类与我们不稳定的世界的关系。 

门票:$15 / $11 老年人和学生 / $9 青年(3-17 岁) / MoMI 会员免费或打折。 订票。 请在抵达时在博物馆的售票处领取门票。所有座位均为普通入场。审查 安全协议 在您访问之前。

关于客人:

比尔·奈 是美国科学教育家、工程师、喜剧演员、电视节目主持人、发明家、主题演讲者和纽约时报畅销书作家。作为获得艾美奖的电视连续剧《科学人比尔·奈》的创作者和主持人,奈以一种有趣且易于理解的方式帮助观众了解科学和工程。今天,奈是一位受人尊敬的科学素养拥护者,他挑战了基于证据的教育和气候变化、进化和批判性思维政策的反对者。他目前担任行星协会的首席执行官,该协会是世界上最大和最有影响力的非政府太空组织,由卡尔萨根共同创立。他还是即将推出的科学系列节目的执行制片人和主持人 结局是奈,将于 2022 年 8 月在 Peacock 播出。

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Loading Events

SCREENING + INTRO

Soylent Green (introduced by Bill Nye)

Sep 25, 2022 at 3:00 pm

Location: Redstone Theater

Introduced by Bill Nye 

Dir. Richard Fleischer. 1973, 97 mins. DCP. With Charlton Heston, Leigh Taylor-Young, Chuck Connors, Joseph Cotten, Brock Peters, Paula Kelly, Edward G. Robinson. It is 2022 and New York City is hot, thirsty, overpopulated, and short on food. So begins Richard Fleischer’s iconic sci-fi thriller, one of the first ecologically minded films to envision the effects of climate change. Detective Thorn (Heston) is investigating the murder of a businessman (Cotten) whose affluent life—fresh fruit, air conditioning, running water, apartments that come furnished with women—contrasts drastically with the way most people live, sleeping on top of each other and subsisting on a synthetic product called Soylent. Following on cautionary landmarks such as Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring (1962), Paul R. Ehrlich’s The Population Bomb (1968), and the Clean Air Act (1970), Soylent Green is an essential film, and one worth reconsidering especially now that we live in the year in which it was set. Legendary Science educator Bill Nye will place Soylent Green in context, compare what was known about climate change in 1973 to today, and address how humans relate to our unstable world. 

Tickets: $15 / $11 senior and students / $9 youth (ages 3–17) / Free or discounted for MoMI members. Order tickets. Please pick up tickets at the Museum’s admissions desk upon arrival. All seating is general admission. Review safety protocols before your visit.

About the guest:

Bill Nye is an American science educator, engineer, comedian, television presenter, inventor, keynote speaker and New York Times bestselling author. In his role as the creator and host of the Emmy Award-winning television series Bill Nye the Science Guy, Nye helped introduce viewers to science and engineering in an entertaining and accessible manner. Today, Nye is a respected champion of scientific literacy who has challenged opponents of evidence-based education and policy on climate change, evolution and critical thinking. He currently serves as CEO of The Planetary Society, the world’s largest and most influential non-governmental space organization, co-founded by Carl Sagan. He is also an executive producer and host of upcoming science series The End is Nye, which will air on Peacock in August 2022.

English