ابحث في متحف الصورة المتحركة

تحميل الأحداث

فحص ، فحص + مقدمة

سويلنت جرين (قدمه بيل ناي)

الخميس 1 كانون الثاني 1970 الساعة 3:00 م

المكان: مسرح ريدستون

قدمه بيل ناي 

دير. ريتشارد فلايشر. 1973 ، 97 دقيقة DCP. مع تشارلتون هيستون ، لي تايلور يونغ ، تشاك كونورز ، جوزيف كوتين ، بروك بيترز ، بولا كيلي ، إدوارد ج.روبنسون. إنه عام 2022 ومدينة نيويورك حارة وعطشى ومكتظة بالسكان وتفتقر إلى الطعام. هكذا بدأ فيلم الخيال العلمي الشهير لريتشارد فليشر ، وهو واحد من أوائل الأفلام ذات التفكير البيئي لتصور آثار تغير المناخ. يحقق المحقق ثورن (هيستون) في مقتل رجل أعمال (كوتين) تتناقض حياته المليئة بالرفاهية - الفواكه الطازجة ، ومكيفات الهواء ، والمياه الجارية ، والشقق المفروشة بالنساء - بشكل كبير مع الطريقة التي يعيش بها معظم الناس ، وينامون فوق بعضهم البعض وتعيش على منتج اصطناعي يسمى Soylent. متابعة المعالم التحذيرية مثل راشيل كارسون الربيع الصامت (1962), بول ر. إيرليش القنبلة السكانية (1968), وقانون الهواء النظيف (1970) ، سويلنت جرين هو فيلم أساسي ، وهو فيلم يستحق إعادة النظر فيه خاصة الآن بعد أن نعيش في العام الذي تم تصويره فيه. معلم العلوم الأسطوري بيل ناي ستضع سويلنت جرين في السياق ، قارن ما كان معروفًا عن تغير المناخ في عام 1973 إلى اليوم ، وتناول كيفية ارتباط البشر بعالمنا غير المستقر. 

التذاكر: $15 / $11 كبار وطلاب / $9 شباب (تتراوح أعمارهم من 3 إلى 17 عامًا) / مجانية أو مخفضة لأعضاء MoMI. طلب التذاكر. يرجى استلام التذاكر من مكتب القبول بالمتحف عند الوصول. جميع المقاعد القبول العام. إعادة النظر بروتوكولات الأمان قبل زيارتك.

عن الضيف:

بيل ناي هو معلم علوم أمريكي ، ومهندس ، وممثل كوميدي ، ومقدم برامج تلفزيونية ، ومخترع ، ومتحدث رئيسي ، ومؤلف ذائع الصيت في نيويورك تايمز. من خلال دوره كمنشئ ومضيف للمسلسل التلفزيوني الحائز على جائزة إيمي Bill Nye the Science Guy ، ساعد Nye في تعريف المشاهدين بالعلوم والهندسة بطريقة مسلية ويسهل الوصول إليها. اليوم ، ناي هو بطل محترم لمحو الأمية العلمية وقد تحدى معارضي التعليم والسياسة القائمة على الأدلة بشأن تغير المناخ والتطور والتفكير النقدي. يشغل حاليًا منصب الرئيس التنفيذي لجمعية الكوكب ، وهي أكبر منظمة فضائية غير حكومية وأكثرها نفوذاً في العالم ، والتي شارك في تأسيسها كارل ساجان. وهو أيضًا منتج تنفيذي ومضيف سلسلة علمية قادمة النهاية هي ناي، والتي ستبث على Peacock في أغسطس 2022.

العربية

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Loading Events

SCREENING + INTRO

Soylent Green (introduced by Bill Nye)

Sep 25, 2022 at 3:00 pm

Location: Redstone Theater

Introduced by Bill Nye 

Dir. Richard Fleischer. 1973, 97 mins. DCP. With Charlton Heston, Leigh Taylor-Young, Chuck Connors, Joseph Cotten, Brock Peters, Paula Kelly, Edward G. Robinson. It is 2022 and New York City is hot, thirsty, overpopulated, and short on food. So begins Richard Fleischer’s iconic sci-fi thriller, one of the first ecologically minded films to envision the effects of climate change. Detective Thorn (Heston) is investigating the murder of a businessman (Cotten) whose affluent life—fresh fruit, air conditioning, running water, apartments that come furnished with women—contrasts drastically with the way most people live, sleeping on top of each other and subsisting on a synthetic product called Soylent. Following on cautionary landmarks such as Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring (1962), Paul R. Ehrlich’s The Population Bomb (1968), and the Clean Air Act (1970), Soylent Green is an essential film, and one worth reconsidering especially now that we live in the year in which it was set. Legendary Science educator Bill Nye will place Soylent Green in context, compare what was known about climate change in 1973 to today, and address how humans relate to our unstable world. 

Tickets: $15 / $11 senior and students / $9 youth (ages 3–17) / Free or discounted for MoMI members. Order tickets. Please pick up tickets at the Museum’s admissions desk upon arrival. All seating is general admission. Review safety protocols before your visit.

About the guest:

Bill Nye is an American science educator, engineer, comedian, television presenter, inventor, keynote speaker and New York Times bestselling author. In his role as the creator and host of the Emmy Award-winning television series Bill Nye the Science Guy, Nye helped introduce viewers to science and engineering in an entertaining and accessible manner. Today, Nye is a respected champion of scientific literacy who has challenged opponents of evidence-based education and policy on climate change, evolution and critical thinking. He currently serves as CEO of The Planetary Society, the world’s largest and most influential non-governmental space organization, co-founded by Carl Sagan. He is also an executive producer and host of upcoming science series The End is Nye, which will air on Peacock in August 2022.

English