ابحث في متحف الصورة المتحركة

نظرًا لأن مدينة نيويورك قد غيرت مستوى تنبيه COVID إلى "متوسط" ، يوصى باستخدام أقنعة الوجه ولكنها غير مطلوبة للزوار. اقرأ الإرشادات المحدثة للسلامة.

تحميل الأحداث

تحري

أفضل سنوات حياتنا: هندسة الجسد

الخميس 1 يناير 1970

المكان: مسرح ريدستون

مع المؤرخ ديفيد سيرلين وخبيرة التكنولوجيا المساعدة أنيتا بير في محادثة

دير. وليام ويلر. 1946 ، 170 دقيقة DCP. مع ميرنا لوي ، فريدريك مارش ، تيريزا رايت ، دانا أندروز ، فيرجينيا مايو ، هارولد راسل ، هوغي كارمايكل. يكافح ثلاثة من قدامى المحاربين لإعادة التكيف مع حياتهم المنزلية بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية. يأتي أكبر صراع لهوميروس (الذي يلعبه المخضرم هارولد راسل) ، الذي فقد يديه في القتال وعليه أن يتعلم التكيف مع الخطافات الاصطناعية. الحائز على ثماني جوائز أوسكار ، بما في ذلك أفضل فيلم وأفضل مخرج وأفضل سيناريو وأفضل ممثل (مارس) ، يعد إنتاج ويليام وايلر أحد أكثر أفلام هوليوود الكلاسيكية إثارة. سيتبع الفحص محادثة حول هندسة الأطراف الصناعية وسلطة وقيود الهيئات غير المعيارية.

 

عن المتحدثين:

ديفيد سيرلين أستاذة دراسات الاتصال والعلوم ، وهيئة تدريس منتسبة لدراسات النوع الاجتماعي الحرجة ، بجامعة كاليفورنيا ، سان دييغو. تشمل كتب البروفيسور سيرلين ، زميل أبحاث سابق في المعاهد الوطنية للصحة الأجزاء الاصطناعية ، حياة عملية: التاريخ الحديث للأطراف الصناعية (مطبعة جامعة نيويورك ، 2002) ، بديل لك: هندسة الجسد في أمريكا ما بعد الحرب (مطبعة جامعة شيكاغو ، 2004) ، و الكلمات المفتاحية لدراسات الإعاقة (مطبعة جامعة نيويورك ، 2015).

أنيتا بير أستاذ مساعد إكلينيكي في قسم العلاج الوظيفي في جامعة نيويورك. لديها خبرة في استخدام التكنولوجيا المساعدة من قبل الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة. أدت عمليات التعاون التي قادها الدكتور بير مع برنامج الاتصالات التفاعلي في جامعة نيويورك Tisch وبرنامج الوسائط الرقمية المتكامل التابع لجامعة نيويورك تاندون إلى تطوير مشروع قدرة جامعة نيويورك ، وهو مساحة بحثية متعددة التخصصات لتطوير التقنيات المساعدة ، حيث يشغل الدكتور بير منصب المدير المشارك.

العربية

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

SCREENING

The Best Years of Our Lives: Engineering the Body

Sunday, Mar 24, 2019

Location: Redstone Theater

With historian David Serlin and assistive technology expert Anita Perr in conversation

Dir. William Wyler. 1946, 170 mins. DCP. With Myrna Loy, Fredric March, Teresa Wright, Dana Andrews, Virginia Mayo, Harold Russell, Hoagy Carmichael. Three veterans struggle to readjust to their home lives after World War II. The biggest struggle comes for Homer (played by real-life veteran Harold Russell), who has lost both hands in combat and must learn to adapt to prosthetic hooks. Winner of eight Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Actor (March), William Wyler’s production is one of the most moving of all classic Hollywood films. The screening will be followed by a conversation about engineering prosthetics and the power and limitations of non-normative bodies.

 

About the speakers:

David Serlin is a professor of Communication and Science Studies, and affiliated faculty in Critical Gender Studies, at the University of California, San Diego. A former research fellow at the National Institutes of Health, Professor Serlin’s books include Artificial Parts, Practical Lives: Modern Histories of Prosthetics (NYU Press, 2002), Replaceable You: Engineering the Body in Postwar America (University of Chicago Press, 2004), and Keywords for Disability Studies (NYU Press, 2015).

Anita Perr is a Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Occupational Therapy at New York University. She has expertise in the use of assistive technology by persons with disabilities. Collaborations that Dr. Perr spearheaded with NYU Tisch’s Interactive Telecommunications Program and NYU Tandon’s Integrated Digital Media Program resulted in the development of the NYU Ability project, an interdisciplinary research space for the development of assistive technologies, where Dr. Perr is the Co-Director.

English