搜索活动影像博物馆

由于纽约市已将其 COVID 警报级别更改为“中”,因此建议佩戴口罩,但访客不需要佩戴口罩。 阅读更新的安全指南.

加载活动

筛选

我们生命中最美好的岁月:改造身体

1970 年 1 月 1 日,星期四

地点:红石剧院

与历史学家 David Serlin 和辅助技术专家 Anita Perr 交谈

目录威廉·怀勒。 1946 年,170 分钟。 DCP。 Myrna Loy、Fredric March、Teresa Wright、Dana Andrews、Virginia Mayo、Harold Russell、Hoagy Carmichael。三名退伍军人在二战后努力重新适应他们的家庭生活。最大的挣扎来自荷马(由现实生活中的老将哈罗德拉塞尔扮演),他在战斗中失去了双手,必须学会适应假肢钩。威廉·怀勒的作品获得了八项奥斯卡奖,包括最佳影片、最佳导演、最佳剧本和最佳男演员(三月),是所有好莱坞经典电影中最感人的一部。筛选之后将进行关于工程假肢以及非规范机构的权力和局限性的对话。

 

关于演讲者:

大卫·瑟林 是加州大学圣地亚哥分校传播与科学研究教授,也是批判性性别研究的附属教授。作为美国国立卫生研究院的前研究员,Serlin 教授的著作包括 人造零件,实际生活:现代假肢史 (纽约大学出版社,2002 年), 可替代的你:战后美国的身体工程 (芝加哥大学出版社,2004 年),以及 残疾研究的关键词 (纽约大学出版社,2015 年)。

安妮塔·佩尔 是纽约大学职业治疗系的临床副教授。她在残疾人使用辅助技术方面拥有专长。 Perr 博士带头与纽约大学 Tisch 的交互式电信项目和纽约大学 Tandon 的综合数字媒体项目合作,促成了 NYU Ability 项目的开发,这是一个用于开发辅助技术的跨学科研究空间,Perr 博士是该项目的联合主任。

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

SCREENING

The Best Years of Our Lives: Engineering the Body

Sunday, Mar 24, 2019

Location: Redstone Theater

With historian David Serlin and assistive technology expert Anita Perr in conversation

Dir. William Wyler. 1946, 170 mins. DCP. With Myrna Loy, Fredric March, Teresa Wright, Dana Andrews, Virginia Mayo, Harold Russell, Hoagy Carmichael. Three veterans struggle to readjust to their home lives after World War II. The biggest struggle comes for Homer (played by real-life veteran Harold Russell), who has lost both hands in combat and must learn to adapt to prosthetic hooks. Winner of eight Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Actor (March), William Wyler’s production is one of the most moving of all classic Hollywood films. The screening will be followed by a conversation about engineering prosthetics and the power and limitations of non-normative bodies.

 

About the speakers:

David Serlin is a professor of Communication and Science Studies, and affiliated faculty in Critical Gender Studies, at the University of California, San Diego. A former research fellow at the National Institutes of Health, Professor Serlin’s books include Artificial Parts, Practical Lives: Modern Histories of Prosthetics (NYU Press, 2002), Replaceable You: Engineering the Body in Postwar America (University of Chicago Press, 2004), and Keywords for Disability Studies (NYU Press, 2015).

Anita Perr is a Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Occupational Therapy at New York University. She has expertise in the use of assistive technology by persons with disabilities. Collaborations that Dr. Perr spearheaded with NYU Tisch’s Interactive Telecommunications Program and NYU Tandon’s Integrated Digital Media Program resulted in the development of the NYU Ability project, an interdisciplinary research space for the development of assistive technologies, where Dr. Perr is the Co-Director.

English