ابحث في متحف الصورة المتحركة

تحميل الأحداث

تحري

الكلاسيكية

جاري التنفيذ

مع تطور تقنية الأفلام بشكل متزايد ، حاول اثنان من الاستوديوهات المحلية ، Vitagraph و Thanhouser ، إسكات منتقدي الصناعة من خلال وضع أعمال الماجستير على شاشات نيكلوديون. (البرنامج حوالي 80 دقيقة).

سيدة جوديفا

دير. تشارلز كينت. طباعة 35 مم بإذن من مكتبة الكونغرس. استوديو فيتاغراف. مع جوليا سوين جوردون وروبرت جيلارد وكيت برايس. بناء على قصيدة ألفريد لورد تينيسون. لأنها "كرهت رؤيتهم يخضعون للضرائب" ، أعطتها السيدة جوديفا كل شيء من أجل رعاياها.

أركان المجتمع

طباعة 35 مم بإذن من منزل جورج إيستمان. استوديو ثانوسر. مع مارتن فاوست وجوليا إم تايلور. مستوحى من مسرحية هنريك إبسن. في سلسلة من التعديلات المسرحية الرائدة ، كان ثانهوسر من نيو روشيل أول استوديو يعرض أعمال هنريك إبسن على الشاشة.

لوتشينفار

طباعة 16 مم بإذن من مكتبة الكونغرس. استوديو ثانوسر. مع ويليام راسل ومارجريت سنو. بناء على قصيدة للسير والتر سكوت. يقود "لوشينفار الشاب الشجاع" وعروسه المسروقة مطاردةهم في مطاردة مرح.

قصة مدينتين

دير. وليام همفري. 30 دقيقة. طباعة 35 مم من أرشيف UCLA للأفلام والتلفزيون. استوديو فيتاغراف. مع موريس كوستيلو وفلورنس تورنر وجون باني. مأخوذ عن رواية تشارلز ديكنز. تم ترميمه مؤخرًا من قبل جامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجلوس ، كان هذا التكيف لديكنز المكون من ثلاث بكرات أحد أطول الأفلام وأكثرها تفصيلاً التي تم إنتاجها في أمريكا.

مجانًا مع دخول المتحف.

العربية

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

SCREENING

The Classics

Ongoing

As film technique grew increasingly sophisticated, two local studios, Vitagraph and Thanhouser, attempted to silence the industry’s critics by putting the work of the masters on nickelodeon screens. (Program approximately 80 mins.)

Lady Godiva

Dir. Charles Kent. 35mm print courtesy of Library of Congress. Vitagraph Studio. With Julia Swayne Gordon, Robert Gaillard, and Kate Price. Based on a poem by Alfred Lord Tennyson. Because she “loathed to see them taxed,” Lady Godiva gives her all for her subjects.

Pillars of Society

35mm print courtesy of George Eastman House. Thanhouser Studio. With Martin Faust and Julia M. Taylor. Based on a play by Henrik Ibsen. In a series of groundbreaking theatrical adaptations, New Rochelle’s Thanhouser was the first studio to bring the work of Henrik Ibsen to the screen.

Lochinvar

16mm print courtesy of Library of Congress. Thanhouser Studio. With William Russell and Marguerite Snow. Based on a poem by Sir Walter Scott. The “gallant young Lochinvar” and his stolen bride lead their pursuers on a merry chase.

A Tale of Two Cities

Dir. William Humphrey. 30 mins. 35mm print courtesy of UCLA Film & TV Archive. Vitagraph Studio. With Maurice Costello, Florence Turner, and John Bunny. Based on the novel by Charles Dickens. Recently restored by UCLA, this three-reel Dickens adaptation was one of the longest and most elaborate films produced in America.

Free with Museum admission.

English