搜索活动影像博物馆

加载活动

筛选

主持人 + 短裤(Snow & The Ball 方法)

1970年1月1日星期四 7:00 下午

在 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会的慷慨支持下,这一筛选得以实现。

Kendra Phelps 博士是一位专门研究蝙蝠可以传播的疾病以及如何将溢出事件风险降至最低的现场科学家,他介绍了病毒的传播速度、疾病的人畜共患病传播以及哪些干预措施可以帮助保护种群。

主人
目录奉俊昊。韩国,2006 年,120 分钟。宋康昊、裴斗娜。来自奥斯卡奖得主奉俊昊(寄生虫) 对这位韩国大师来说是一部开创性的作品,并且仍然是他最有趣的电影之一。在它的中心是一个家庭,其最小的成员(Go Ah-sung)被一种携带病毒的两栖生物绑架,这种生物是由倾倒有毒废物形成的。 Bong 的灵感来自于美国真实的甲醛倾倒事件,这部具有先见之明的杰作兼具动感、幽默、剪裁和悲剧性。额定:R


目录艾萨克·埃尔加斯。美国,2012 年,22 分钟。与查克·麦科勒姆和丽贝卡·斯派彻一起。故事背景设定在 1854 年伦敦霍乱爆发期间,受一个真实故事的启发,斯诺追随现在被认为是现代流行病学创始人的约翰·斯诺博士,他质疑疾病的原因。 Snow 的制作得到了南加州大学与 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会合作颁发的资助。没有评分

球法
目录达格马维·阿贝贝。美国,2020 年,19 分钟。与基尔西克莱蒙斯。这部短片改编自非裔美国化学家爱丽丝·鲍尔(Alice Ball)鲜为人知的真实故事,她在 1915 年 23 岁时发现了治疗麻风病的有效方法。 Ball Method 是在南加州大学与 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会合作提供的资助下制作的。没有评分

分享

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

SCREENING

The Host + Shorts (Snow & The Ball Method)

Friday, Jun 4, 2021 at 7:00 PM

This screening is made possible with the generous support of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

With an introduction by Dr. Kendra Phelps—a field scientist who specializes in the diseases bats can spread and how to minimize risk for spillover events—about how quickly viruses can spread, the zoonotic transmission of disease, and what interventions can help protect populations.

The Host
Dir. Bong Joon-ho. South Korea, 2006, 120 mins. With Song Kang Ho, Bae Doona. The genre-bending, hit monster movie from Oscar-winner Bong Joon-ho (Parasite) was a groundbreaking work for the Korean master and remains one of his most entertaining films. At its center is a family whose youngest member (Go Ah-sung) has been kidnapped by a virus-carrying amphibious creature, formed by toxic waste dumping. Bong was inspired by a real-life incident of formaldehyde dumping in the U.S. for this prescient masterpiece that’s action-packed, humorous, cutting, and tragic all at once. Rated: R

Snow
Dir. Isaac Ergas. U.S., 2012, 22 mins. With Chuck McCollum and Rebecca Spicher. Set during the 1854 cholera outbreak in London and inspired by a true story, Snow follows Dr. John Snow, now regarded as the founder of modern epidemiology, who questions the cause of the illness. Snow was produced with support from a grant awarded by USC in partnership with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Not Rated

The Ball Method
Dir. Dagmawi Abebe. U.S., 2020, 19 mins. With Kiersey Clemons. This short film is based on the little-known true story of African-American chemist Alice Ball, who found an effective treatment for leprosy in 1915 when she was 23 years old. The Ball Method was produced with support from a grant awarded by USC in partnership with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Not Rated

Share

English