ابحث في متحف الصورة المتحركة

تحميل الأحداث

تحري

المضيف + شورت (طريقة الكرة والثلج)

الخميس 1 كانون الثاني (يناير) 1970 الساعة 7:00 مساءً

تم إجراء هذا الفحص بدعم سخي من مؤسسة Alfred P. Sloan.

مع مقدمة من الدكتورة كندرا فيلبس - عالمة ميدانية متخصصة في الأمراض التي يمكن أن تنتشرها الخفافيش وكيفية تقليل مخاطر الأحداث غير المباشرة - حول مدى سرعة انتشار الفيروسات ، وانتقال الأمراض حيواني المصدر ، وما هي التدخلات التي يمكن أن تساعد في حماية السكان.

المضيف
دير. بونغ جون هو. كوريا الجنوبية 2006 ، 120 دقيقة. مع سونغ كانغ هو ، باي دونا. فيلم الوحش الناجح المنحني من النوع الحائز على جائزة الأوسكار بونغ جون هو (طفيلي) كان عملاً رائدًا للسيد الكوري ولا يزال أحد أكثر أفلامه تسلية. في وسطها عائلة تم اختطاف أصغر أفرادها (Go Ah-sung) من قبل مخلوق برمائي يحمل فيروسات ، يتكون من إلقاء نفايات سامة. استوحى Bong من حادثة حقيقية لإغراق الفورمالديهايد في الولايات المتحدة لهذه التحفة الرائعة التي تمتلئ بالإثارة والفكاهة والقطع والمأساوية في آنٍ واحد. تصنيف R

ثلج
دير. اسحق ارجاس. الولايات المتحدة ، 2012 ، 22 دقيقة. مع تشاك ماكولوم وريبيكا سباشر. تدور أحداث الفيلم أثناء تفشي الكوليرا في لندن عام 1854 ، وهو مستوحى من قصة حقيقية ، ويتبع سنو الدكتور جون سنو ، الذي يُعتبر الآن مؤسس علم الأوبئة الحديث ، والذي يتساءل عن سبب المرض. تم إنتاج Snow بدعم من منحة مقدمة من USC بالشراكة مع مؤسسة Alfred P. Sloan. غير مصنف

طريقة الكرة
دير. دغماوي أبيبي. الولايات المتحدة ، 2020 ، 19 دقيقة. مع كيرسي كليمونز. يستند هذا الفيلم القصير إلى قصة حقيقية غير معروفة للكيميائية الأمريكية الأفريقية أليس بول ، التي وجدت علاجًا فعالًا للجذام في عام 1915 عندما كانت تبلغ من العمر 23 عامًا. تم إنتاج طريقة الكرة بدعم من منحة مقدمة من USC بالشراكة مع مؤسسة Alfred P. Sloan. غير مصنف

شارك

العربية

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

SCREENING

The Host + Shorts (Snow & The Ball Method)

Friday, Jun 4, 2021 at 7:00 PM

This screening is made possible with the generous support of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

With an introduction by Dr. Kendra Phelps—a field scientist who specializes in the diseases bats can spread and how to minimize risk for spillover events—about how quickly viruses can spread, the zoonotic transmission of disease, and what interventions can help protect populations.

The Host
Dir. Bong Joon-ho. South Korea, 2006, 120 mins. With Song Kang Ho, Bae Doona. The genre-bending, hit monster movie from Oscar-winner Bong Joon-ho (Parasite) was a groundbreaking work for the Korean master and remains one of his most entertaining films. At its center is a family whose youngest member (Go Ah-sung) has been kidnapped by a virus-carrying amphibious creature, formed by toxic waste dumping. Bong was inspired by a real-life incident of formaldehyde dumping in the U.S. for this prescient masterpiece that’s action-packed, humorous, cutting, and tragic all at once. Rated: R

Snow
Dir. Isaac Ergas. U.S., 2012, 22 mins. With Chuck McCollum and Rebecca Spicher. Set during the 1854 cholera outbreak in London and inspired by a true story, Snow follows Dr. John Snow, now regarded as the founder of modern epidemiology, who questions the cause of the illness. Snow was produced with support from a grant awarded by USC in partnership with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Not Rated

The Ball Method
Dir. Dagmawi Abebe. U.S., 2020, 19 mins. With Kiersey Clemons. This short film is based on the little-known true story of African-American chemist Alice Ball, who found an effective treatment for leprosy in 1915 when she was 23 years old. The Ball Method was produced with support from a grant awarded by USC in partnership with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. Not Rated

Share

English