搜索活动影像博物馆

加载活动

事件

将网络呈现理论化:反对机器的时代

1970年1月1日星期四下午2:00

这一集的网络呈现理论化集中在扰乱互联网上主流生活方式和行为方式的不合适和异常值上。在第一部分,Sonja Solomun 和 Victoria Simon 使用酷儿理论将算法和算法能力问题化。然后,杰克韦伯斯特考虑了为什么黑胶唱片在音乐流媒体服务无处不在的时代经历了一个新的全盛时期。最后,Heather Fenby 询问在互联网上变老意味着什么,在互联网上,可访问性是一种乏味的事后想法,而个性化意味着不断提醒人们死亡、衰败、虚弱、意外、痛苦的疾病和完全无关紧要。本集由 TtW Presents 制片人 Whitney Erin Boesel (@weboesel) 主持。

加入对话。

小组成员简介:

希瑟·芬比 (@_cynar) 已经在舞蹈和实验戏剧作品中编排和表演了 30 年。她的职业是用户体验战略顾问。

维多利亚·西蒙 (@vickiisimon) 是美国大学传播学院的教授讲师。西蒙研究了技术接口和软件行业的历史和文化政治,在开发人员的实践、身份、残疾和民主之间划清界限。她特别关注音乐和声音,目前正在编写她的第一本书手稿, 从困难到快乐:音乐屏幕的考古学.

索尼娅·所罗门 (@SonjaSolomun) 是麦吉尔大学媒体、技术和民主中心的研究主任,也是关键技术联盟的联合创始人。她目前正在麦吉尔大学传播学系完成博士学位。 Sonja 研究平台的历史和政治以及人工智能的社会影响。

杰克韦伯斯特 毕业于英国南安普顿大学网络科学博士培训中心 (CDT)。他对平台化如何塑造文化产品的生产和消费感兴趣。

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: Proof of vaccination is required for all visitors ages 5 and older (with photo ID for adults), and everyone must wear face masks. Read all our guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

EVENT

Theorizing the Web Presents: Age Against the Machine

Wednesday, Dec 2, 2020 at 2:00 PM

This episode of Theorizing the Web Presents centers on the misfits and outliers who are disrupting dominant ways of being and doing on the internet. In the first segment, Sonja Solomun and Victoria Simon use queer theory to problematize algorithms and algorithmic power. Then, Jack Webster considers why vinyl records are experiencing a new heyday in an age of ubiquitous music streaming services. And, finally, Heather Fenby asks what it means to be older on the Internet, where accessibility is an unglamorous afterthought, and personalization means incessant reminders of mortality, decay, infirmity, accident, painful illness, and utter irrelevance. This episode is moderated by TtW Presents Producer Whitney Erin Boesel (@weboesel).

Join the conversation.

Panelist Bios:

Heather Fenby (@_cynar) has choreographed and performed in dance and experimental theater pieces for 30 years. She has a parallel career as a UX strategy consultant.

Victoria Simon (@vickiisimon) is a Professorial Lecturer in the School of Communication at American University. Simon examines the history and cultural politics of technological interfaces and software industries, drawing lines between the practices of developers, identity, disability, and democracy. She has a special focus on music and sound, and is currently working on her first book manuscript, From Difficulty to Delight: An Archaeology of Musical Screens.

Sonja Solomun (@SonjaSolomun) is the Research Director of the Centre for Media, Technology and Democracy at McGill University and a co-founder of the Coalition for Critical Technology. She is currently completing her PhD in the Department of Communication Studies at McGill. Sonja works on the histories and politics of platforms and the social implications of AI.

Jack Webster is a graduate of the Web Science Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) at the University of Southampton, UK. He is interested in how platformization is shaping the production and consumption of cultural goods.

English