搜索活动影像博物馆

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. 阅读更新的安全指南.

加载活动

由 Janus 电影公司提供

筛选

沙丘中的女人

1970年1月1日星期四下午5:00

地点:红石剧院

目录手志原弘。 1964 年,147 分钟。 35毫米。日文配英文字幕。冈田英二和岸田恭子。鬼故事,西西弗斯故事,色情浪漫沙丘中的女人 (砂之恩纳) 是日本新浪潮的标志性建筑。电影制作人 Teshigahara 和超现实主义作家 Kōbō Abe 合作,电影明星 Eiji Okada (广岛之恋) 作为一名昆虫学家,他前往东京郊外的海滩研究当地的虎甲虫。一系列事件将他带到了沙丘的底部,在那里他被一个年轻的寡妇(岸田恭子饰)困住了;无休止的铲子是他们避免毁灭的唯一方法。 1964年奥斯卡金像奖最佳导演提名手志原 沙丘中的女人,使他成为第一个获得提名的亚裔人。后来他离开电影界,成为草月插花学校的校长;他对细节的密切关注在电影中身体和沙子混合的精致场景中显而易见。 沙丘中的女人'令人难忘的乐谱是日本最著名的作曲家之一,武满彻。 

放映伴随着作家和经济学家的一篇文章 索纳利·德拉尼亚加拉 (海浪) 关于寓言故事的 沙丘中的女人 这引起了广泛的共鸣,包括威胁到许多物种生存的气候危机,以及过去几年许多人不得不孤立地生活的大流行。从这两次危机的经验中可以清楚地看出,不同社会经济阶层的人受到的影响不同,而且往往处于社会阶梯底部的人受害最深。

索纳利·德拉尼亚加拉 是作家和经济学家。她是伦敦大学亚非学院经济系的教员,也是哥伦比亚大学国际与公共事务学院的兼职副教授。 Deraniyagala 博士 2013 年的回忆录 海浪 讲述了她在印度洋海啸中失去两个儿子、丈夫和父母的经历,以及随后几年的悲痛。它入围了 2013 年国家书评家协会奖,并获得了 PEN/Ackerley 奖等多项荣誉。

门票:$15 / $11 老年人和学生 / $9 青年(3-17 岁) / MoMI 会员免费或打折。 订票。 请在抵达时在博物馆的售票处领取门票。所有座位均为普通入场。审查 安全协议 在您访问之前。

分享

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

Loading Events

Courtesy of Janus Films

SCREENING

Woman in the Dunes

Sunday, Feb 13 at 5:00 PM

Location: Redstone Theater

Dir. Hiroshi Teshigahara. 1964, 147 mins. 35mm. In Japanese with English subtitles. With Eiji Okada and Kyôko Kishida. Ghost story, Sisyphean tale, erotic romanceWoman in the Dunes (Suna no Onna) is a landmark of the Japanese New Wave. A collaboration between filmmaker Teshigahara and surrealist writer Kōbō Abe, the film stars Eiji Okada (Hiroshima mon amour) as an entomologist who travels to the beach outside of Tokyo to study the local tiger beetle. A series of events lead him to the bottom of a sand dune where he becomes trapped with a young widow (Kyōko Kishida); endless shoveling is the only way for them to stave off annihilation. Teshigahara was nominated for Best Director at the 1964 Academy Awards for Woman in the Dunes, making him the first person of Asian descent to receive the nomination. He later left the film industry to become headmaster of the Sogetsu flower arranging school; his close attention to detail is evident in the film’s delicate scenes where body and sand intermingle. Woman in the Dunes’ memorable score is by one of Japan’s most celebrated composers, Toru Takemitsu. 

The screening is accompanied by an essay from writer and economist Sonali Deraniyagala (Wave) about how the allegorical story of Woman in the Dunes resonates broadly, including with the climate crisis that threatens many species’ existence, and with the past years’ pandemic in which many have had to live in isolation. It is clear from the experience of both crises that people of varying socioeconomic classes are impacted differently, and often those at the bottom of the social ladder suffer most.

Sonali Deraniyagala is a writer and economist. She is on the faculty of the Department of Economics at SOAS, University of London and is Adjunct Associate Professor in the School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University. Dr. Deraniyagala’s 2013 memoir Wave recounts her experience during the Indian Ocean Tsunami when she lost her two sons, her husband, and her parents, and the progression of her grief in the ensuing years. It was shortlisted for the 2013 National Book Critics Circle Award and won the PEN/Ackerley Prize, among many other honors.

Tickets: $15 / $11 senior and students / $9 youth (ages 3–17) / Free or discounted for MoMI members. Order tickets. Please pick up tickets at the Museum’s admissions desk upon arrival. All seating is general admission. Review safety protocols before your visit.

Share

English