搜索活动影像博物馆

请注意:自 5 月 17 日起,纽约市 COVID 级别设置为高,所有访客都需要戴口罩。 阅读更新的安全指南.

消息

MoMI 的东欧电影

2022 年 3 月 5 日

Sergei Loznitsa's 2018 film <em>Donbass</em> (courtesy of Film Movement)
谢尔盖·洛兹尼察 2018 年的电影 顿巴斯 (由电影运动提供)

在接下来的几周内,博物馆将展示来自东欧和俄罗斯的重要作品,这些作品提供了对当代的思考,同时也突出了该地区非凡的电影制作。这些电影挑战假设以呈现复杂而棱角分明的视角。随着俄罗斯入侵乌克兰的展开,我们除了在 First Look 中已经宣布的片名之外,还增加了放映,这些放映为这场发展中的悲剧提供了重要的背景。 

“使用隐喻和图像,电影制作人是最有能力向他人展示世界的艺术家之一,他们超越了头条新闻,捕捉、叙述、重复和评论当代生活,”电影策展人 Eric Hynes 指出。

这些年 首见节,3 月 16 日至 20 日,乌克兰导演 Sergei Loznitsa 和 Valentyn Vasyanovych 以及俄罗斯电影制片人 Kirill Serebrennikov 的新作将上映。何继续创作与官方民族主义叙事背道而驰的作品.在前一个周末,我们将放映 Loznitsa 的 顿巴斯——作为国际风险电影人联盟的筹款人,以帮助乌克兰的电影人——和 迈丹, 在其他头衔中。请参阅下面的时间表。

回首2018年,博物馆呈现 普京的俄罗斯,一部 30 部电影系列,提供了对弗拉基米尔·普京统治下生活的独特看法,选择从 1999 年普京上台到接下来的 19 年(2018 年),这段时期见证了四位美国总统、多场战争、各种经济繁荣和萧条,以及无数的抗议、镇压和入侵。此外,博物馆还展示了谢尔盖·洛兹尼察的纽约首映式 顿巴斯试用 (均作为 First Look 2019 的一部分);维塔利·曼斯基的戏剧活动 密切关系 (2017)和 戈尔巴乔夫。天堂 (2021);和其他电影,直到现在。

3 月 11 日至 12 日上映的电影:

maidan-documentary-porton-tease_fp7ewq

迈丹
3 月 11 日,星期五,下午 6:30
3 月 12 日星期六,下午 4:00
谢尔盖·洛兹尼察(Sergei Loznitsa)广受赞誉且立即具有影响力的纪录片记录了推翻乌克兰总统维克多·亚努科维奇政府的民间起义。 

作为的一部分呈现 非小说新冒险

Courtesy of Deckert Distribution

普京的证人
3 月 12 日星期六,下午 1:30
在这部引人注目的纪录片中,维塔利·曼斯基 (Vitaly Mansky) 回到了他在制作一部关于总统候选人弗拉基米尔·普京的电影时拍摄的镜头,质疑他自己的参与。

作为的一部分呈现 第二眼:十年的第一眼选择

donbass

顿巴斯
3 月 12 日星期六下午 6:30
谢尔盖·洛兹尼察 一个世纪的战争,苏联统治和崩溃仍然令人震惊的社会解体的超现实主义旅程。 收益将捐赠给 乌克兰的电影人。

通过与发行商的安排,本次放映的所有收益将捐赠给 国际风险电影人联盟,一个对因工作而面临风险的电影制作人的人身安全或自由受到迫害或威胁的案件作出反应的组织。

作为 First Look 的一部分放映 3 月 17 日至 20 日的电影:

A woman stands by a lamp and a plant atop a glowing television screen in a curtained room

彼得罗夫的流感
3 月 17 日,星期四,下午 6:30
俄罗斯事业名人基里尔·塞雷布伦尼科夫的第三部作品是对阿列克谢·萨尔尼科夫小说的幻觉、超现实主义改编 流感及其周边地区的彼得罗夫一家.

MR_LANDSBERGIS_STILL_2

兰茨贝吉斯先生
3 月 19 日星期六下午 3:00
Sergei Loznitsa 的最新作品是一部档案故事的杰作,详细介绍了立陶宛为国家地位而进行的斗争,并通过对立陶宛第一任议会主席 Vytautas Landsbergis 的采访将其联系在一起。

BABI_YAR_CONTEXT_HIGH_RES_STILL_5

巴比亚尔。语境
3 月 20 日星期日下午 1:00
Sergei Loznitsa 仅使用档案镜头,一丝不苟地讲述了在基辅郊区的峡谷 Babi Yar 发生的事件,1941 年,这里发生了历史上最大规模的大规模处决之一。

REFLECTION-by-Valentyn-Vasyanovych-STILL-1

反射
3 月 20 日星期日下午 4:00
乌克兰电影制片人瓦伦丁·瓦夏诺维奇的最新作品是一部冷酷而血腥的长镜头电影,抹去了和平状态与战争状态之间的想象界限。 

在 First Look 之后,博物馆将展示 瓦伦丁·瓦夏诺维奇(Valentyn Vasyanovych)的四, 3 月 25 日至 27 日。

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: as of May 17, with NYC COVID level set at High, face masks are required for all visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

NEWS

Films from Eastern Europe at MoMI

MARCH 5, 2022

Sergei Loznitsa's 2018 film <em>Donbass</em> (courtesy of Film Movement)
Sergei Loznitsa's 2018 film Donbass (courtesy of Film Movement)

In the coming weeks, the Museum will present vital works from Eastern Europe and Russia that offer a reckoning with the contemporary moment while also highlighting the extraordinary filmmaking from the region. These films challenge assumptions to present a complex and prismatic range of perspectives. With the unfolding Russian invasion of Ukraine, we have added screenings, in addition to the already announced titles in First Look, that offer important context on this developing tragedy. 

“Using metaphor and images, filmmakers are among the artists most capable of presenting the world for others to see, going beyond headlines to capture, narrate, riff on, and comment upon contemporary life,” notes Curator of Film Eric Hynes.

This year’s First Look Festival, March 16–20, features searing new work by Ukrainian directors Sergei Loznitsa and Valentyn Vasyanovych, as well as Russian filmmaker Kirill Serebrennikov, an artist who continues to produce work against the grain of official nationalist narratives. On the weekend prior, we will screen Loznitsa's Donbass—as a fundraiser for International Coalition for Filmmakers at Risk to aid filmmakers in Ukraine—and Maidan, among other titles. See below for a schedule.

Looking back, in 2018, the Museum presented Putin’s Russia, a 30-film series that offered unique views of life under Vladimir Putin’s rule, with selections dating from Putin’s rise to power in 1999 through the following nineteen years (2018), a period that saw four American presidents, multiple wars, various economic booms and busts, and countless protests, crackdowns, and incursions. In addition, the Museum presented the New York premieres of Sergei Loznitsa’s Donbass and The Trial (both as part of First Look 2019); theatrical engagements of Vitaly Mansky’s Close Relations (2017) and Gorbachev. Heaven (2021); and additional films, up to the present moment.

Films showing March 11–12:

maidan-documentary-porton-tease_fp7ewq

Maidan
Friday, March 11, 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 12, 4:00 p.m.
Sergei Loznitsa's acclaimed and instantly influential documentary chronicles the civil uprising that toppled the government of Ukrainian president Victor Yanukovich. 

Presented as part of New Adventures in Nonfiction

Courtesy of Deckert Distribution

Putin’s Witnesses
Saturday, March 12, 1:30 p.m.
In this striking documentary, Vitaly Mansky returns to footage he shot while making a movie about presidential candidate Vladimir Putin, questioning his own participation.

donbass

Donbass
Saturday, March 12, 6:30 p.m.
Sergei Loznitsa's surrealistic journey into the dissolution of a society still staggering from a century of war, Soviet rule, and collapse. Proceeds will be donated to filmmakers in Ukraine.

By arrangement with the distributor, all proceeds from this screening will be donated to the International Coalition for Filmmakers at Risk, an organization that responds to cases of persecution or threats to the personal safety or liberty of filmmakers at risk as a result of their work.

Films showing March 17–20 as part of First Look:

A woman stands by a lamp and a plant atop a glowing television screen in a curtained room

Petrov’s Flu
Thursday, March 17, 6:30 p.m.
Russian cause celebré Kirill Serebrennikov’s third feature is a hallucinatory, surrealistic adaptation of Alexey Salnikov’s novel The Petrovs in and Around the Flu.

MR_LANDSBERGIS_STILL_2

Mr. Landsbergis
Saturday, March 19, 3:00 p.m.
Sergei Loznitsa's latest, a masterwork of archival storytelling, details the Lithuanian fight for nationhood, threaded together by interviews with the first Head of the Lithuanian Parliament, Vytautas Landsbergis.

BABI_YAR_CONTEXT_HIGH_RES_STILL_5

Babi Yar. Context
Sunday, March 20, 1:00 p.m.
Using only archival footage, Sergei Loznitsa meticulous recounts the events at Babi Yar, a ravine on the outskirts of Kiev where, in 1941, one of the largest mass executions in history took place.

REFLECTION-by-Valentyn-Vasyanovych-STILL-1

Reflection
Sunday, March 20, 4:00 p.m.
Ukrainian filmmaker Valentyn Vasyanovych's latest is a grim and bloody tour de force of long-take cinema, obliterating the imaginary line between states of peace and states of war. 

Following First Look, the Museum will present Four by Valentyn Vasyanovych, March 25–27.

English