搜索活动影像博物馆

请注意:所有 5 岁及以上的游客都需要提供疫苗接种证明(成人需出示带照片的身份证),并且每个人都必须戴口罩。 阅读我们所有的安全指南.

消息

西德尼·普瓦捷 (1927–2022)

Shown: Sidney Poitier in EDGE OF THE CITY (1957, Dir. Martin Ritt).

今天得知传奇演员和开拓者 Sidney Poitier 去世的消息,我们深感悲痛,他是 MoMI 的早期支持者。 Poitier 是 1989 年我们第四届年度致敬筹款活动的获奖者,就在博物馆向公众开放一年后。当时,他与当时的电影策展人理查德·科扎斯基和电影学者唐纳德·博格尔就自己的生活和工作进行了对话。该对话的摘录如下(访问完整的成绩单 这里).

关于 Sidney Poitier 早年你可能不知道的五件事 (用他自己的话说)。这些最初于 2016 年 4 月 9 日出版,以配合博物馆的 西德尼·波蒂埃回顾展, 于 2016 年 4 月 9 日至 17 日运行。

“我开始了我的电影生涯,博物馆现在所在的地方,” Poitier 谈到他出现在一部名为 帮助从何而来,于 1949 年在 Astoria 工作室制作,当时美国陆军信号公司正在使用该工作室。

“我要去好莱坞当牛仔,” 一个年轻的普瓦捷告诉他的妹妹。 Poitier 在加勒比地区(猫岛和巴哈马拿骚)长大,看了很多美国电影,其中很多是西部片,他爱上了它们。他在 1972 年的导演处女作是修正主义西部片 巴克和传教士.

“当我很小的时候,我来到了纽约。而且我在这里没有朋友或亲戚,所以我靠洗盘子来谋生。” 那个时候,他在公司的分类部门找洗碗工作。 阿姆斯特丹新闻,有一天他偶然发现了一则“演员通缉”的广告。

“我买了一台收音机。从那天开始整整六个月,我每天晚上都在不工作的时候听那个收音机。” 他在美国黑人剧院的第一次试镜完全是一场灾难,部分原因在于他浓重的加勒比口音。 “我打算改变口音,所以我听美国人说话。”

“所以我替哈里·贝拉方特学习。” 当贝拉方特没有出现在美国黑人剧院的第一部学生作品中时,普瓦捷上台了。观众中的一位选角导演随后让他在百老汇的制作中扮演一个角色 鳞翅目.

上图:普瓦捷 城市边缘 (1957)

更新: 为了向 Sidney Poitier 致敬,博物馆将放映 城市边缘,1957 年的电影,由马丁·里特执导,普瓦捷、约翰·卡萨维茨、杰克·沃登和鲁比·迪主演,于 1 月 30 日和 2 月 5 日上映。 在这里了解更多。

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

As New York City has changed its COVID alert level to “Medium,” face masks are recommended but not required for visitors. Read updated guidelines for safety.

NEWS

Sidney Poitier (1927–2022)

Shown: Sidney Poitier in EDGE OF THE CITY (1957, Dir. Martin Ritt).

We were saddened to hear of the death today of Sidney Poitier, the legendary actor and trailblazer, who was an early supporter of MoMI. Poitier was the honoree at our fourth annual Salute fundraiser in 1989, just a year after the Museum opened to the public. At that time he participated in a conversation about his life and work with then Curator of Film Richard Koszarski and film scholar Donald Bogle. Excerpts from that conversation are included below (access the full transcript here).

Five Things You Might Not Know About Sidney Poitier’s Early Years (in his own words). These were originally published April 9, 2016 to coincide with the Museum's Sidney Poitier Retrospective, which ran April 9–17, 2016.

“I started my film career where the Museum is now housed,” said Poitier, about his appearance in a short training film called From Whence Help Cometh, made in 1949, at the Astoria studio which was then in use by the U.S. Army Signal Corp.

“I’m going to go to Hollywood and become a cowboy,” a young Poitier told his sister. Growing up in the Caribbean (on Cat Island and then in Nassau, Bahamas), Poitier watched a lot of American movies, many of them westerns, and he fell in love with them. His directorial debut in 1972 would be the revisionist western Buck and the Preacher.

“When I was very young, I came to New York. And I had no friends or relatives here so what I did to earn a living was I washed dishes a lot.” In those days, he looked for dishwashing jobs in the classified section of The Amsterdam News, where he one day stumbled upon an ad for “Actors Wanted.”

“I bought a radio. From that day on for six months solid, I listened to that radio every day, every night, when I wasn’t at work.” His first audition with the American Negro Theater was a total disaster in part because of his strong Caribbean accent. “I intended to change my accent, so I listened to Americans speaking.”

“So I understudied for Harry Belafonte.” And when Belafonte did not show up in their first student production at the American Negro Theater, Poitier went on stage. A casting director in the audience then offered him a role in the Broadway production of Lysistrata.

Top image: Poitier in Edge of the City (1957)

Update: In tribute to Sidney Poitier, the Museum will screen Edge of the City, the 1957 film directed by Martin Ritt and starring Poitier, John Cassavetes, Jack Warden, and Ruby Dee, on January 30 and February 5. Learn more here.

English