搜索活动影像博物馆

消息

斯隆学生大陪审团和发现奖

SloanStudentPrize LOGO

动态影像博物馆和斯隆科学与电影博物馆很高兴通过斯隆学生大陪审团和探索奖扩大我们与 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会的关系。该计划由翠贝卡电影学院建立并以前由其管理,为来自全国精选学校的有抱负的电影制作人提供现金奖励,以及专门的指导和独特的交流机会。

斯隆学生大陪审团和发现奖 每年庆祝两部杰出的故事片或剧本系列剧本——来自十二个顶尖的研究生电影项目提名的剧本——将科学或技术主题和人物融入一个真实、引人入胜和及时的故事。由受人尊敬的电影和科学专业人士组成的评审团选出的两名获奖者将获得 $20,000 的奖金,并获得科学顾问和电影行业专业人士的行业曝光、反馈和全年指导。这些奖项旨在支持电影发展,并在他们从研究生院过渡到电影行业时,推动对科学和技术感兴趣的多元化、新兴电影制作人的职业生涯。

斯隆学生评审团大奖由翠贝卡电影学院和阿尔弗雷德·P·斯隆基金会于 2011 年首次设立,将通过与阿尔弗雷德·P·斯隆 (Alfred P. Sloan) 全年合作的六所顶尖大学电影学院进行的提名程序颁发基础。他们是:美国电影学院;卡内基梅隆大学戏剧学院;哥伦比亚大学电影系;纽约大学蒂施艺术学院;加州大学洛杉矶分校戏剧、电影和电视学院;和南加州大学电影艺术学院。每所学校都将从那些因其对科技主题或人物的真实和引人入胜的描述而获得认可的剧本或剧本系列试播集中提名一部。评审团大奖授予这些计划合作伙伴中的佼佼者。

斯隆学生发现奖由翠贝卡电影学院和 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会于 2019 年新设立,向六所拥有成熟电影研究生课程的公立大学的提名开放。这些学校是:布鲁克林学院费尔斯坦电影学院;佛罗里达州立大学;纽约州立大学购买电影与媒体研究学院;天普大学;德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校;和密歇根大学。每所学校都会提名一部剧本或剧本系列试播集供评审团考虑。

 

关于奖品:
  • 申请只接受提名。
  • 申请人可以提交故事片剧本或带有系列处理的试播集。
  • 剧本应该突出故事中的科学、工程、数学或技术。
  • 预计决赛选手将与指定的写作导师一起完成一轮笔记,然后在 2021 年秋季提交修订后的剧本和正式申请,由科学和电影行业专业人士组成的评审团进行审查。
  • 每个奖项都有 $20,000 的奖金和来自科学和电影行业顾问的全年指导。
  • 获奖者将于 2021 年 11 月在动态影像博物馆举行的公开颁奖典礼上庆祝。
  • 获奖的剧本将在 2022 年 3 月的 MoMI 一年一度的 First Look 节上展出,其中有一个专门用于剧本阅读和反馈的会议。
  • 获奖的电影制作人将被邀请参加 MoMI 青少年委员会的导师研讨会。
  • MoMI 工作人员将监督资金分配给获奖电影制作人的情况,并将监督这些资金的使用方式。
认识 2021 年的陪审员:

贝瑟妮·爱德华兹 是加州大学伯克利分校的教授,也是来自阿肯色州农村的远洋海洋学家。她对海洋微生物如何相互作用、它们使用的化学语言以及这对海洋化学和气候的影响深感兴趣。

亚历克西斯·加法斯 是 Cinetic Media 的跟踪主管,她在财务、管理和全球销售团队中工作,以识别和引入具有创造性独特性和商业可行性的电影制作人驱动的项目。她的职责包括与新兴电影制作人建立关系、建立 Cinetic 的电影节名单、评估潜在的融资机会以及跟踪电影节、市场和行业趋势。她还咨询过一系列独立金融家和大型媒体公司,包括 NatGeo 和纽约时报。她最近参与的项目包括 时间, RBG, Faya Dayi, 班主任, Mucho Mucho Amor, 土地, 我们是动物, 拆掉房子, Hale 县今夜今夜, Science Fair, Amy, Strong Island, 1971, 灵魂之夏。

朱文迪 是康奈尔理工学院雅各布斯理工学院和康奈尔理工学院以及康奈尔大学信息科学领域的副教授。她在人机交互和自动车辆界面领域的工作突出了交互设备可以设计成更安全、更可预测和更适合社交的方式。鞠教授为自动化系统的早期原型设计创新了许多方法,以了解人们在系统构建之前将如何响应系统。她拥有斯坦福大学机械工程博士学位和麻省理工学院媒体艺术与科学硕士学位。

娜塔莉·卡萨比安 是一家位于洛杉矶的独立电影制片人。 2018年,娜塔莉制作 搜索,由 John Cho 和 Debra Messing 主演的惊悚片,在圣丹斯被索尼收购,票房达到 $75M。之前 搜索 娜塔莉为杜普拉斯兄弟制作了三部故事片,包括 鸭油 由米格尔·阿尔特塔执导。她的电影曾在圣丹斯、SXSW 和翠贝卡首映。最近,娜塔莉制作了  狮门影业由莎拉·保尔森主演,该片于 2020 年在 Hulu 首映,并迅速成为流媒体上观看次数最多的原创电影。 2021 年,娜塔莉被授予圣丹斯学院亚马逊工作室年度制片人奖。目前,娜塔莉正在制作 搜索 2 由 Storm Reid 和 Nia Long 主演的 Sony/Screen Gems。她曾就读于南加州大学电影艺术学院,最近获得了佩珀代因大学的 MBA 学位。

卡拉西摩 开始了她的职业生涯,共同创立了麻烦与纷争女性剧院公司,编写和制作广受好评的戏剧。她继续在百老汇工作,在 Mike Leigh 的 Obie 获奖作品中 狂喜 和卡里尔丘吉尔的 斯克里克 最近她出现在百老汇的制作中 1984.电影作品包括 适应, 美国精神病, 黑暗中的舞者, 纽约帮派, 卢旺达酒店, 野蛮人, 教育, 女人, 一部分, 斯隆奖获得者镭女孩。 电视作品包括 Steven Soderbergh 的 尼克斯。

艾米莉汤普森,普林斯顿大学历史学教授,探索声音、音乐、噪音、听力和技术的文化历史。她的工作得到了美国国家科学基金会、古根海姆基金会和麦克阿瑟基金会以及电影艺术与科学学院的支持。她是作者 现代性的声景:1900-1933 年美国的建筑声学和聆听文化(麻省理工学院出版社)和网站 The Roaring 'Twenties 的共同创建者,这是一个交互式多媒体演示纽约市大约 1930 年的噪音。她的下一本书, 声音特效,将研究当录制的声音被引入美国电影业时,制作和放映电影的艺术和工艺发生了怎样的变化。

 
历届大陪审团和探索奖获得者(由翠贝卡电影学院颁发):

佐伊弗莱尔蛤蜊 (2020 年发现奖)
马修·杰克特白色棺材 (2020 年评审团大奖)

 

安德森库克, Ĵ艾姆斯托马斯认为地球是平的 (2019 年评审团大奖)
安德鲁·罗德里格斯 (2019 年发现奖)

 

杰里米·帕尔默枯骨谷 (2018 年评审团大奖)

 

安妮·普尔西弗发光的基因 (2017 年评审团大奖)

 

肖恩·斯奈德 & 杰森·贝格变成尘土 (2016 年评审团大奖)

 

萨凡纳帝国1929 年的深海潜水员 (2015 年评审团大奖)

 

劳拉·阿尔苏姆适者生存 (2014 年评审团大奖)

 

巴内特布雷特勒起床时间 (2013 年评审团大奖)

 

格兰杰大卫便士股票 (2012 年评审团大奖)

 

罗伯特·科恩旁观者 (2011 年评审团大奖)

 

要了解有关斯隆电影计划的更多信息并浏览所有以前的获奖者,请访问 scienceandfilm.org/projects

认识 2021 年写作导师:

卢卡·博尔盖塞 是纽约制作公司 AgX 的联合创始人。最近的项目包括 黛安 (导演肯特·琼斯)于 2018 年在翠贝卡和洛迦诺的比赛中首映; 怪物与人 (导演雷纳尔多·马库斯·格林)在被 Neon 发行之前获得了圣丹斯最佳第一部长片评审团特别奖;和埃里克·斯蒂尔的 民言 2020 年在柏林电影节首映。他还是詹姆斯·格雷的副制片人 Z 失落之城 和奉俊昊的 玉子.

尼萨尔·莫迪 是编剧 打破边缘 (2013)和 Z 代表撒迦利亚 (2015 年)。他毕业于南加州大学,获得电影制作(荣誉)学士学位,并为包括威尔·史密斯、莱昂纳多·迪卡普里奥、马特·里夫斯、加里·罗斯、克洛伊·莫瑞兹和大卫·麦肯齐在内的众多演员和电影制片人编写剧本。

艾米丽·拉帕波特 是 Conner Literary 的文学总监,这是一家从书籍到电影/电视的侦察公司,为改编采购小说和非小说作品。她之前曾在 Annapurna Pictures 的电视开发部门和 United Talent Agency 的电视文学和包装部门工作。她对书籍和电影、狗和猫、纽约(她来自哪里)和洛杉矶(她居住的地方)有着同样的热爱。

凯特夏普 是艾美奖提名的制片人和贝尔维尤制作公司的文学经理。她的故事片作品包括 窥视世界,由 Michael C. Hall、Sarah Silverman、Rainn Wilson、Taraji P. Henson 和 Judy Greer 主演; 通过化学改善生活,由山姆·洛克威尔、奥利维亚·王尔德、米歇尔·莫纳汉和简·方达主演;和 包法利夫人,在 2014 年特柳赖德电影节上全球首映。夏普还担任Hulu原创电视剧的执行制片人 面具背后.她为 Showtime、MTV 和 Verizon 等公司制作了简短的内容。五年来,夏普在 Occupant Entertainment 担任高管,最后两年担任开发和制作副总裁。

穆萨赛义德 是一位作家兼导演,他有两个特点, 圣徒谷 (圣丹斯观众奖得主)和 一个流浪者 (SXSW官方选择),都是 纽约时报 评论家的选择。他还是这部广受好评的专题的合著者 梅纳舍,由 A24 分发。 Musa Syeed 的短片包括圣丹斯精选集 被剥夺者 和 大房子,以及纪录片 布朗克斯公主 (柏林)和 儿子的牺牲 (最佳短片,翠贝卡)。他目前是哈佛的 Briggs-Copeland 编剧讲师。

克劳迪娅·威尔 是电影、电视和戏剧导演。她的第一个特点, 女朋友,在戛纳电影节、Filmex 和圣丹斯获得多个奖项。她的第二个特点, 轮到我了,获得多纳泰罗(欧洲奥斯卡)最佳新导演奖。她制作了30部短片 芝麻街 并执导了多部纪录片,尤其是 这是黎凡特·格雷厄姆夫人的家 (肯尼迪新闻奖)和 天空的另一半:中国回忆录,与雪莉麦克雷恩一起获得奥斯卡奖提名。她的电视作品包括多集 三十多岁 (人道主义和艾美奖), 我所谓的人生, 芝加哥希望, 和 女孩们.她在艺术与科学学院的董事执行委员会和洛杉矶唯一的古典剧院 Antaeus 董事会任职

该计划在 Alfred P. Sloan 基金会的支持下得以实现.

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation 是一家总部位于纽约的慈善非营利机构,在三个领域提供资助:科学、技术和经济研究;科学机构的质量和多样性;和公众参与科学。斯隆的科学和技术公众理解项目由多伦·韦伯指导,旨在通过更深入地了解我们日益增长的科学和技术世界来丰富人们的生活,并使从事科学家、工程师和数学家工作的男性和女性的生活变得人性化。目标是通过支持书籍、广播、电视、电影、戏剧和新媒体等一系列原创作品来整合科学和人文两种文化。该基金会与大约 20 家电影学院和电影节合作伙伴合作,并支持了 750 多个电影项目,其中包括 30 多部故事片。欲了解更多信息,请访问 sloan.org.

简体中文

Search Museum of the Moving Image

Please note: Proof of vaccination is required for all visitors ages 5 and older (with photo ID for adults), and everyone must wear face masks. Read all our guidelines for safety.

NEWS

Sloan Student Grand Jury and Discovery Prizes

SloanStudentPrize LOGO

Museum of the Moving Image and Sloan Science & Film are pleased to expand our relationship with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation with the Sloan Student Grand Jury and Discovery Prizes. The program, established and formerly administered by Tribeca Film Institute, awards aspiring filmmakers from select schools across the nation a cash prize, along with dedicated mentorship and unique networking opportunities.

The Sloan Student Grand Jury and Discovery Prizes celebrate two outstanding feature film or scripted series screenplays annually—from those nominated by twelve top graduate film programs—that integrate science or technology themes and characters into a realistic, compelling, and timely story. Two winners, selected by a jury of esteemed film and science professionals, receive a $20,000 prize and are provided industry exposure, feedback, and year-round mentorship from a science advisor and film industry professional. These prizes aim to support film development and advance the careers of diverse, emerging filmmakers interested in science and technology as they transition out of graduate school and into the film industry.

The Sloan Student Grand Jury Prize, first established by the Tribeca Film Institute and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation in 2011, will be awarded through a nomination process conducted by the six leading university film schools that partner year-round with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. They are: American Film Institute; Carnegie Mellon University School of Drama; Columbia University Film Department; NYU Tisch School of the Arts; UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television; and USC School of Cinematic Arts. Each school will nominate one screenplay or scripted series pilot from those that have been recognized for its realistic and compelling depictions of science and technology themes or characters. The Grand Jury Prize is awarded to the best-of-the-best from these program partners.

The Sloan Student Discovery Prize, newly established in 2019 by the Tribeca Film Institute and Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, is open to nominations from six public universities with established graduate film programs. The schools are: Brooklyn College Feirstein School of Cinema; Florida State University; SUNY Purchase School of Film and Media Studies; Temple University; University of Texas at Austin; and University of Michigan. Each school nominates one screenplay or scripted series pilot for consideration by the jury.

 

About the Prizes:
  • Applications are accepted by nomination only.
  • Applicants can submit a feature film screenplay or a pilot with series treatment.
  • Scripts should prominently feature science, engineering, mathematics, or technology in the story.
  • Finalists will be expected to go through one round of notes with an assigned writing mentor and then submit a revised screenplay with a formal application in fall 2021 to be reviewed by a jury of science and film industry professionals.
  • Each award comes with a $20,000 prize and year-round mentorship from a science and film industry advisor.
  • The winners will be celebrated at a public awards ceremony at Museum of the Moving Image in November 2021.
  • The winning screenplays will be showcased at MoMI's annual First Look Festival in March 2022 with a session dedicated to screenplay readings and feedback.
  • The winning filmmakers will be asked to participate in a mentor workshop with MoMI's Teen Council.
  • MoMI staff will oversee the distribution of funds to the winning filmmaker and will monitor the ways in which those funds are used.
Meet the 2021 Jurors:

Bethanie Edwards is a Professor at University of California, Berkeley and a sea-going oceanographer who hails from rural Arkansas. She is deeply interested in how marine microbes interact with one another, the chemical language that they use to do so, and the impact this has on ocean chemistry and climate.

Alexis Galfas is the Head of Tracking at Cinetic Media, where she works across the Finance, Management, and Global Sales teams to identify and bring in filmmaker-driven projects that are creatively unique and commercially viable. Her responsibilities include establishing relationships with emerging filmmakers, building Cinetic's film festival slates, assessing potential financing opportunities, and tracking film festival, market, and industry trends. She has also consulted range of independent financiers and large media companies including NatGeo and The New York Times.  Recent projects she has been involved with include Time, RBG, Faya Dayi, Homeroom, Mucho Mucho Amor, Land, We The Animals, Knock Down the House, Hale County This Morning This Evening, Science Fair, Amy, Strong Island, 1971, and Summer of Soul.

Wendy Ju is an Associate Professor at the Jacobs Technion-Cornell Institute at Cornell Tech and the Technion and in the Information Science field at Cornell University. Her work in the areas of human-robot interaction and automated vehicle interfaces highlights the ways that interactive devices can be designed to be safer, more predictable, and more socially appropriate. Professor Ju has innovated numerous methods for early-stage prototyping of automated systems to understand how people will respond to systems before the systems are built. She has a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford, and a Master’s in Media Arts and Sciences from MIT.

Natalie Qasabian is an independent film producer based in Los Angeles. In 2018, Natalie produced Searching, a thriller starring John Cho and Debra Messing which was acquired by Sony at Sundance and went on to gross $75M at the box office. Prior to Searching Natalie produced three feature films for the Duplass Brothers including Duck Butter directed by Miguel Arteta. Her films have premiered at Sundance, SXSW and Tribeca. Most recently, Natalie produced Run starring Sarah Paulson for Lionsgate, which premiered on Hulu in 2020 and quickly became the most watched original film on the streamer. In 2021 Natalie was awarded the Sundance Institute Amazon Studios Producer's of the Year Award. Currently, Natalie is producing Searching 2 for Sony/Screen Gems starring Storm Reid and Nia Long.  She studied at USC's School of Cinematic Arts, and recently earned an MBA from Pepperdine University.

Cara Seymour began her career co-founding Trouble and Strife Women's Theatre Company, writing and producing critically acclaimed plays. She went on to work off Broadway in the Obie winning production of Mike Leigh's Ecstasy and Caryl Churchill's The Skriker and recently she appeared in the Broadway production of 1984. Film work includes Adaptation, American Psycho, Dancer in the Dark, Gangs of New York, Hotel Rwanda, The Savages, An Education, A Woman, a Part, and Sloan Award recipient Radium Girls. TV work includes Steven Soderbergh's The Knick.

Emily Thompson, Professor of History at Princeton University, explores the cultural history of sound, music, noise, listening, and technology.  Her work has been supported by the National Science Foundation, the Guggenheim and MacArthur Foundations, and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She is the author of The Soundscape of Modernity: Architectural Acoustics and the Culture of Listening in America, 1900-1933(MIT Press) and co-creator of the website The Roaring 'Twenties, an interactive multimedia presentation of the noises of New York City circa 1930. Her next book, Sound Effects, will examine how the art and craft of making and showing movies changed when recorded sound was introduced to the American film industry.

 
Previous Grand Jury and Discovery Prize Winners (awarded by the Tribeca Film Institute):

Zoe FleerClamming (2020 Discovery Prize)
Matthew JackettWhite Coffins (2020 Grand Jury Prize)

 

Anderson Cook, James Thomas Thinks the Earth Is Flat (2019 Grand Jury Prize)
Andrew RodriguezPlus (2019 Discovery Prize)

 

Jeremy PalmerThe Valley of Dry Bones (2018 Grand Jury Prize)

 

Annie PulsipherThe Glowing Gene (2017 Grand Jury Prize)

 

Shawn Snyder & Jason BegueTo Dust (2016 Grand Jury Prize)

 

Savannah ReichDeep Sea Divers of 1929 (2015 Grand Jury Prize)

 

Laura AlsumSurvival of the Fittest (2014 Grand Jury Prize)

 

Barnett BrettlerWaking Hours (2013 Grand Jury Prize)

 

Grainger DavidPenny Stock (2012 Grand Jury Prize)

 

Robert CohenBystander (2011 Grand Jury Prize)

 

To learn more about the Sloan Film Program and browse all previous winners, visit scienceandfilm.org/projects

Meet the 2021 Writing Mentors:

Luca Borghese is co-founder of AgX, a New York–based production company. Recent projects include Diane (dir. Kent Jones), which premiered in competition at Tribeca and Locarno in 2018; Monsters and Men (dir. Reinaldo Marcus Green), which won the Special Jury Award for Best First Feature at Sundance before being released by Neon; and Eric Steel’s Minyan which premiered in the Berlinale in 2020. He was also Associate Producer on James Gray’s The Lost City of Z and Bong Joon Ho’s Okja.

Nissar Modi is the screenwriter of Breaking at the Edge (2013) and Z for Zachariah (2015). He graduated with a B.A. (Hons) in Film Production from the University of Southern California, and has written scripts for a wide array of actors and filmmakers including Will Smith, Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Reeves, Gary Ross, Chloe Moretz, and David Mackenzie.

Emily Rappaport is Literary Director at Conner Literary, a book-to-film/TV scouting firm sourcing fiction and nonfiction titles for adaptation. She previously worked in television development at Annapurna Pictures and in the television literary and packaging department at United Talent Agency. She has equal love for books and movies, dogs and cats, New York (where she's from) and Los Angeles (where she lives).

Kate Sharp is an Emmy-nominated producer and Literary Manager at Bellevue Productions. Her feature film credits include Peep World, starring Michael C. Hall, Sarah Silverman, Rainn Wilson, Taraji P. Henson, and Judy Greer; Better Living Through Chemistry, which starred Sam Rockwell, Olivia Wilde, Michelle Monaghan, and Jane Fonda; and Madame Bovary, which had its World Premiere at the 2014 Telluride Film Festival. Sharp also served as an Executive Producer on the Hulu original TV series Behind the Mask. She produced short-form content for companies such as Showtime, MTV, and Verizon. For five years, Sharp was an executive at Occupant Entertainment, serving as Vice President of Development and Production for the last two.

Musa Syeed is a writer-director whose two features, Valley of Saints (Sundance Audience Award Winner) and A Stray (SXSW Official Selection), were both New York Times Critic’s Picks. He was also a co-writer on the acclaimed feature Menashe, distributed by A24. Musa Syeed’s short films include the Sundance selections The Dispossessed and The Big House, as well as the documentaries Bronx Princess (Berlinale) and A Son’s Sacrifice (Best Short Doc, Tribeca). He is currently Briggs-Copeland Lecturer in Screenwriting at Harvard.

Claudia Weill is a film, television, and theater director. Her first feature, Girlfriends, won multiple awards at Cannes, Filmex, and Sundance. Her second feature, It’s My Turn, won the Donatello (European Oscar) for Best New Director. She made 30 short films for Sesame Street and has directed numerous documentaries, notably This Is the Home of Mrs. Levant Graham (Kennedy Journalism Award) and The Other Half of the Sky: A China Memoir, with Shirley MacLaine, nominated for an Academy Award. Her work in television includes multiple episodes of thirtysomething (Humanitas and Emmy Awards), My So-Called Life, Chicago Hope, and Girls. She serves on the Directors’ Executive Committee for the Academy of Arts and Sciences and on the Board of Antaeus, the only classical theater in L.A.

This program is made possible with the support of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is a New York based, philanthropic, not-for-profit institution that makes grants in three areas: research in science, technology, and economics; quality and diversity of scientific institutions; and public engagement with science. Sloan’s program in Public Understanding of Science and Technology, directed by Doron Weber, aims to enrich people’s lives through a keener appreciation of our increasingly scientific and technological world and to humanize the lives of the men and women working as scientists, engineers, and mathematicians. The goal is to integrate the two cultures of science and the humanities by supporting an array of original works such as books, radio, television, film, theater, and new media. The Foundation works with about 20 film school and film festival partners and has supported over 750 film projects, including over 30 feature films. For more information visit sloan.org.

English